We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly Worth Going”

Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.03*
and up
Museum Ons' Liever Heer op Solder: Our Lord in the Attic Museum Entrance Ticket...
Ranked #8 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the heart of Amsterdam's bustling centre lies one of the city's oldest museums: Museum Our Lord in the Attic. Here visitors get to experience the Dutch Golden Age in a special way: a 17th-century house with a top floor converted into a Catholic church.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Worth Going”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a small site but at the top of my list because of it's uniqueness and the original state of much of what was there. It was very beautiful but stairs are steep so it may not be good for the disabled or elderly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lafortunato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,546
    661
    89
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Pola, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“it is much more than what you'd expect of it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We wanted to try some new things and when we heard about the "hidden churches" as a concept in Amsterdam, we said "why not?!". And from the look of it - a small door which appears to lead in a very tiny house - we thought we'd be in and out. Well, yes, but no!

The whole thing is like 3-4 floors high, couple of houses connected, there is a real church on top of it, right - as the name says "in the attic". VERY well presented - with an audio guide included in the price (i think it was 8 euro per person), telling you the story of the church and some interesting facts about how this type of churches came to being in the first place.

Excellent exhibition and audio guide. Exceeded my expectations - very nice museum, highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise and the church in the attic was a lot larger than I expected. The audio guide provided gave good commentary, and it was nice to see what life was like back in the times the church was constructed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
213 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“completely refurbished, just great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Museum "Ons' Lieve Heer op Solder" is a Dutch museum in Amsterdam which one should not forget to go and see. Behind the front of the former house of the rich catholic merchant from Amsterdam Jan Hartman are many surprises hidden. Apart of the beautiful 17th cent living rooms, arranged with art objects, the Amsterdam Renaissance `Sael (reception chamber), cosy bed cities, curate chamber and kitchenette breathes a particular environment.
The largest treasure is on attic! On the full depth of attic deepening Jan Hartman accepted in 1661 a Roman Catholic housechurch with 150 seats to be build. An ingenious solution then after in 1587 an official prohibition came on the celebration of the catholic religion. For over two hundred years church services were held here. The chapel has just this month be reopened renovated in the 16th cent. style and colors.
www.opsolder.nl/‎

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
279 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

When we went to see this museum, workers were re-constructing the chapel flooring. There just wasn't much to see beyond the upstairs chapel. In hindsight, we could easily have skipped this site for other more interesting venues.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing