We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The single best thing in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder

Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder
Book In Advance
More Info
$12.69*
and up
Museum Ons' Liever Heer op Solder: Our Lord in the Attic Museum Entrance Ticket...
Ranked #8 of 482 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the heart of Amsterdam's bustling centre lies one of the city's oldest museums: Museum Our Lord in the Attic. Here visitors get to experience the Dutch Golden Age in a special way: a 17th-century house with a top floor converted into a Catholic church.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The single best thing in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'm a Brit living in Holland, although I've been coming here for years. Had a little time to kill, whilst escorting a vistor round so we popped in here. I won't spoil the surprise but "wow - didn't see that coming".

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gerard_bartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,499
    645
    89
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top sight - a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This beautiful 'hidden church' was a highlight of my visit to the city. The audioguide helps to paint a good picture of what it was like back in the day when it was a functioning church for Catholics who had to worship in secret. You also learn about the man who owned this house and built the church in the attic. A special place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Lord in the Attic Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This museum is a must-see on any trip to Amsterdam. I'm sure a lot of people miss this museum because it's not one of the better known sights but for me it was one of the highlights of my trip.

It's an amazing insight into life at the time when it wasn't advisable to be Catholic, and the house just oozes atmosphere with it's narrow, steep stairs and bed tucked into an alcove. The house itself is wonderful but the last thing you expect to find in the attic is a church, and a pretty sizeable one too.

Other reviewers have mentioned the renovations taking place, but despite these it didn't spoil my visit. It will be interesting to see the museum when renovations are completed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerseybean47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THIS is Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Forget about Oude Kerk and that sort of places, Our Lord in the Attic is THE place to visit. My friend told me about this place and I absolutely loved it- small and quite, makes you feel welcomed. Staff was very helpful and audio guide was highly informative, so the history of the chapel could be better understood. A bit off the beaten tracks, but definitely worth seeing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank katja115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Experience despite restoration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Other reviews here will give a fair idea of what it is like. Easily covered in an hour. The audioguide was very intelligently done because obviously parts of the chapel were missing but a good presentation of what a restorer needs to consider when performing this type of work lets you see through to the skeleton. More information on what it was like to be a clandestine catholic would have been useful. i shall certainly return when it is fully repaired

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank warmvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing