We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“must visit..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Light District

Red Light District
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.86*
and up
Half-Day Tour of Red Light District and Jordaan District with Private Guide in...
Ranked #42 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This area in the oldest part of Amsterdam is known for the red neon windows that display barely-dressed prostitutes advertising their services; it's all perfectly acceptable as long as it stays inside this designated area of the city.
Asyut, Egypt
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“must visit..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

its the them of Amsterdam, a tourist place, everyone goes to enjoy the atmosphere and walk..even with your girl, its a good night out

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HatOrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,835
    6,632
    4,277
    971
    638
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LosAngeles
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“This IS the attraction in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you ask anybody in the world what they know about Amsterdam, I can guarantee that the answer will be about legalized drugs and prostitution. For many people this represents the ultimate recognition of human freedom. We have to admit it, even though there are so many other attractions/sights/museums all very interesting and beautiful, this is what makes the city special. I feel sorry to see that it is ranked only as the 49th attraction in Amsterdam, when in reality every single tourist visited or they wanted to visit it. Due to its proximity to Dam Square and Centraal Station it is also, almost impossible not to pass by.
It is absolutely very safe any time of the day and for sure, the most lively place at night. The red lanterns at the end of the streets signal that you enter a different “territory”, you should store your camera deep down in your pockets and open your eyes and mind. The scenery you are about to see can only be preserved through your senses. If this is your first visit, you may feel uncomfortable at the beginning, even shy. But after a while, just like you admire masterpieces in Louvre, you will stop and watch every single window, it is impossible to avoid the smiles of the beautiful girls behind the glass.
You will not see anything ugly, nor violent, nor offending. There is laughter all around you, everybody is having a good time. The few bars along the canal allow you to take a break, have a drink and reflect on how much humanity will gain if we will be more tolerant with each other.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank LATraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First time in Amsterdam ... Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Me and my partner came here for the 1st time in 2013. We walked around A LOT! It is definitely a sight seeing holiday... And did we see some sights! The red light district comes alive at night and there is plenty too see!!! It's defiantly an experience to say the least but we will defiantly return maybe with a group of us in the summer! As we came in Feb and it was snowing and very cold!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“more to do then red lights and weed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Most of what there is to do, for the younger crowd, is around the district. Weather it be bars, entertainment or people watching. However more then seedy at night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jd2734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great to walk around, but I had mixed feelings. Are those smiling women behind the windows really smiling. After I visited Red Ligt Secrets, Museum of prostitution I knew better. A lot of trafficking going on here!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldous E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Light District also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Red Light District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing