We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The first church in Amsterdam built as a Protestant Church...”

West Church (Westerkerk)
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.62*
and up
Amsterdam City Canal Cruise
Ranked #70 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This magnificent Renaissance church (circa 1620) is identified by its high tower (more than 245 feet high,) and is the site of Rembrandt's grave who was buried here in 1669.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The first church in Amsterdam built as a Protestant Church...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Westerkerk was the place where Queen Beatrix and her husband Prince Claus are married. Rembrandt is buried there and Descartes and Anne Frank lived 'next door': almost literally. A must see in Amsterdam because so much history is condensed here in so few square meters. I was lucky enough to grow up in this area and cafe Het Werk, next to the church. was my gymnastics classroom . We used to surprise tourists in front of the building to answer their question before they had asked: "Anne Frank House is here to the right third building after the corner..." Nowadays you can not miss it: there is a line waiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    217
    91
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Where Rembrant was buried”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This church was a landmark for us to use while we stayed in the Jordaan neighborhood of Amsterdam. It is a beautiful Protestant church with a lot of history built in 1620-1631. On March 10, 1966, Queen Beatrix (then Princess Beatrix) married Prince Claus in the Westerkerk. It is located next to the Anne Frank House.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, AB
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We ducked into the Westerkerk en route from the Anne Frank House. Beautiful church, nice to escape the bustle of the canals and just sit inside and marvel at the architecture. Tower was closed when we were there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank wedelmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Beautiful exterior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a very striking church from the outside. It can easily be combined with a trip to Anne Frank House or Prinsengracht. Unfortunately, the tower is closed in the winter.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must go up the bell tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We couldn't see the church from the inside when we were there but decided to take the stairs and go up to see the city from above. It's 100% worth going but you should remember that it's not very comfortable - the staircases are very narrow. They form limited groups of visitors at the entrance by timetable so it's better to go there in the morning to book the visit ahead. The guides also take your bags to a storage room so basically you can take only your wallet and camera with you. The staircases are wooden so I didn't feel very safe actually. The guide tells you the story of the tower while you go up. And the view from the top of it is amazing. You can see the whole city. I guess it's one of the few places in the city from which it can be seen from above as there are no high buildings in the center.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Church (Westerkerk) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to West Church (Westerkerk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing