We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$285
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Expedia.com
$285
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Hotels.com
$285
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
eDreams$285
Priceline$285
Orbitz.com$285
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveler rating
609
202
44
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
609
202
44
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exceptional room anne frank house boutique hotel overlooking the garden continental breakfast small hotel beautiful room fantastic hotel yogurt central amsterdam canal keizersgracht westerkerk toiletries bells cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 883 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

We just had a great weekend in Amsterdam and stayed two nights at the Canal House. We were more than satisfied. Nice and clean room with great room service. Very helpful and friendly staff. We had a great garden view. The breakfast was good. We can really recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank JohanK1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed Amsterdam and that your overall experience was a fantastic one. We work very hard to delight each and every guest who stays with us – and I am thrilled that on your visit we met up to your expectations.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, please be sure to contact us directly so we can take extra care of your booking.

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019 via mobile

Love this boutique hotel. Beautiful rooms and high end bath products. The service is beyond great. Very personal and just overall lovely. Close to everything and train station. Easily one of the nicest hotels I’ve stayed at in Amsterdam.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank M7973JPkarenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, it’s very much appreciated as well as helpful! I’m glad to read that everything was fantastic regarding your stay and will certainly share your comments with my team.

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

We loved the design of the hotel. Mimicking a Rembrandt, the hotel is black and gray on the edges, but with huge windows that flood the place with light. It doesn't feel dark. Rather, it's intimate, sexy, and cozy. You can sip a drink in the bar overlooking the canal or if it's a nice day, sit outside in the private garden. There's a nice continental breakfast served in a beautiful drawing room overlooking the garden. The guest rooms are beautiful. Huge windows allow tons of light to offset the dark walls and furnishings. At night with the lamps turned on, it really does feel like living inside a Rembrandt. The light only shows you what you need to see, the rest disappears into the background. We loved the rain head shower and bath products. There's an inviting tub and the separate toilet room is a nice touch. A Nespresso machine and tea kettle were really convenient in the morning. The mini-bar is well stocked and the dual vessel sinks in the room itself is a brilliant touch of design. Melanie, Vikrom(?), and the front desk staff are patient and always ready with advice on what to do in Amsterdam. It's a 1min. walk to the Anne Frank House, right the Keizersgracht canal, and incredibly convenient to explore Amsterdam.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

We would like to thank you for sharing such a great and detailed review on TripAdvisor. It is fantastic to read that you have made good use of all our facilities and that you have enjoyed the service provided by our team. We will make sure to share all your kind words with them, they will truly be delighted to hear that their service is appreciated. ( Especially Melanie and Wilko they both will be delighted with your positive comments)

We thank you for choosing us during your trip to Amsterdam, and we surely hope to welcome you back. Should you wish to make a reservation, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly so that we can make your next stay even more memorable.

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

On your first step into the hotel you will get this unique feeling of the old building. The decoration and design of the hotel are just amazing.
The rooms are big, some facing the canal and some to the garden, and the bed is just heaven.
The staff are so helpful and are there for you in every moment. The feeling is very friendly and personal, they greet you by your name, carry the bags into the room and helping with all the extra help like directions and restaurants.
In one word: Amazing.
I would defenetly come back and recommend to others.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Oded A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

It was a pleasure having you as our guests happy to find out that everything was at your satisfaction and you think back with positive feelings about our Services & Hotel.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.
Looking forward to see you again soon!

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

Great location within the centre , beautiful building with so much character - from the moment I arrived early the staff were unfailingly helpful and pleasant . Rooms are well designed and a perfect size - would have no hesitation in recommending or staying again

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

It was a pleasure having you as our guests happy to find out that everything was at your satisfaction and you think back with positive feelings about our Services & Hotel.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.
Looking forward to see you again soon!

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews