We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Family Celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #19 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have just spent 4 fantastic days in Amsterdam celebrating a significant birthday. Menno on reception was both friendly and informative when we checked in and took time to explain the layout of the hotel as we were on different floors and also the facilities in each room. All of the staff proved equally friendly and helpful and were always willing to ensure our requirements were being met. Nothing was too much trouble and this was exemplified by the gift provided for my wife as well as booking fast pass tickets for the Van Gogh museum when we initially asked for directions. We had sumptuous sleep in the most comfortable king size beds and simply melted into the pillows. The continental breakfast was extensive and catered for a wide range of tastes. The garden was an oasis of calm in this busy city and preferable to enjoy relaxing.drinks and snacks in between our wider forays to the attractions. The hotel is ideally located for many of the attractions and for those less mobile the taxis were not prohibitively expensive. We have nothing but positive comments about the hotel and staff and readily recommend to travellers looking for something special.

Room Tip: The "better" rooms look out onto a small enclosed courtyard offering quiet away from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    167
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
342
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is very well situated and the public rooms and especially the garden are a delight.
Our room was a decent size and the bath/shower in the room is less intrusive than you might think.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.Throughout our stay the staff were attentive and friendly.
The problem with the room was a lack of natural light with the window looking on to windowless walls on three sides.
We glimpsed rooms in passing with full length windows overlooking the garden and developed serious room envy.
We would very happily stay in the Canal House again but in one of the better rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Canal House is an upscale, boutique hotel in a most perfect location within close distance to the Anne Frank House , museums, cafes, etc. The staff was friendly, extremely helpful and always available. The rooms are dimly lit ( not great for putting on makeup), but otherwise, dramatically contemporary without sacrificing old world charm. The bed ( we had a " great" room), was the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel. The buffet breakfast is good and plentiful. To me, this is an ideal place to stay amidst a city. Their backyard garden is peaceful and pretty. I would definately. stay here again should I return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeeLongIsland_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel is absolutely amazing . It offers beautiful rooms with an interesting modern design, has a great kitchen, friendly staff members and its "hidden pearl" - the beautiful private garden, a great place for the hotel guests to relax and enjoy the weather. The hotel's location is great too - very central and convenient yet quiet.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
228 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a real gem. The hotel is located in a beautiful, tranquil street. The decor of the hotel is stunning with wonderful architectural details. The entire staff is superb. They are warm, hospitable,and knowledgeable
I was thrilled with my choice and would give this hotel my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: I loved having a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I can't possibly explain how wonderful a hotel the Canal House is. There wasn't anything that wasn't perfection, from the greeting from Lisa we received upon arrival, our gorgeous room (we stayed in an Exceptional Room, #7 which overlooked the garden), the entire staff is welcoming and gracious, the breakfast is fantastic, and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. The location is perfect, so picturesque right on the canal, and located to so many things. The hotel looks and makes you feel like you're staying in someone's home, it's so comfortable. Thank you Canal House for making my first trip to Amsterdam so perfect and wonderful. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here from the minute we arrived, greeted warmly by the very friendly and caring reception staff. Our accommodation was excellent. We felt the location was a major bonus as the hotel is very well located, within walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and tram stops.

Room Tip: We chose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly201205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Property: Canal House
Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing