We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay at Canal House”
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #22 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I flew into Amsterdam on Sunday 5/4 and stayed at the Canal House for three nights. Our large room on the second floor (#12) overlooked the canal through large windows which opened wide. The room was very nice but the service was even better. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. A special thanks to Owen, who was very patient and helpful in answering our questions and giving us tips. Stairs to our second floor room were narrow and curved, but a 68 year old such as myself had no trouble with them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 695 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

Behind the tall Dutch facade is a super-contemporary interior, albeit with some of the original architecture left intact. Fun and snappy, albeit with fashionably challenging lighting. Loved the big secluded garden. Loved being able to walk straight out onto the prettiest Amsterdam canals even more.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank scoochlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

One night in this beautiful and peaceful hotel.
Upgraded room (garden view ),special thanks for Desiree ,from the front desk staff,
For her professional and so friendly help.
Most of this staff (from Bali),have such a positive and helpful attitude,from the heart.
I will ,definitely come back in this place ,for a longer stay.
Unique.

Thomas,Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My boyfriend has been to Amsterdam before, and stayed at a larger hotel establishment, whereas I wanted to stay in a more boutique style hotel. Canal House was fantastic! Thoughtfully and beautifully designed, we loved every single detail. We stayed in the Great Room #5 facing the canal, and it was gorgeous. There's some street noise that comes through if you have the windows open, but we didn't mind it much. We stayed for 5 days in April 2014, and the weather was a bit chilly- but overall nice. The location is perfect for shopping, restaurants and museums. Its located in one of the hippest neighborhoods, with great boutique shopping. We walked everywhere and never felt like it was too far off from anything. It was centrally located to all the places we wanted to see / visit. Their service is phenomenal and their staff is very helpful and friendly. Everyone there speaks English, so it made things easier for us. We also had breakfast included which was your basic continental breakfast, but it was very good. When we go back to Amsterdam, Canal House will be the only place we stay. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. It is a very nice hotel with great service. Two negatives are lots of steep stairs which would be no problem but for the fact that public areas are Very dimly lit. (Decor thruout is purple and black). Other negative is our shower bathtub was inside the sleeping area. The bather has no separation from the bed area so don't go unless you are either very well acquainted with your travel companion or one of you wants to go to the lobby while the other gets ready!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank LoriW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fantastic location on the west side of the Damrak, the Canal House is close enough to the train station (10 mins walk) and the Damrak (5 mins walk) but far enough away from the busy tourist traps of the Red Light area and Flower Market.

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, and there is a lovely bar in which to enjoy a pre dinner drink. Breakfast is plentiful and the rooms were spacious and of good quality given the complexity of fitting so much into what is a traditional canal side building.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamieparkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

21st March - We knew check-in was 3pm, but the hotel advised that we could store luggage if we arrived earlier. We arrived at noon and were happily advised that our room was ready, so we checked in by very friendly staff. The hotel, although central, is in a quiet location. Our room, in the basement was huge and was once the original kitchen with a few items from that time. The house has many original features which have successfully blended with modern decor. We had a superking bed and a well stocked modern bathroom. It makes for a tremendously unique hotel. Breakfast, included, is a buffet affair with many options and hot food provided as an extra. The staff are very obliging, helpful, warm and friendly. We are definitely returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abuffboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,341 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,872 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $217 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing