We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Hotel if a little bit pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #20 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel if a little bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Lovely location - picturesque and quiet . We booked in for a 2 night stay between Christmas and NY On arrival we had a very warm welcome with a small ginger cleansing drink and a cool flannel to refresh ourselves . The service for our stay could not be faulted the staff were friendly and attentive . The public areas of the hotel were well decorated with pictures and mirrors and as it was Christmas they looked particularly stunning with Christmas trees , wreaths and twinkle lights
Our room was located on the ground floor next to the kitchen which we had to walk through and it often smelt of sewage so that was not so good !! THe room itself was lovely and luxurious and cannot fault it . If we had paid another 100 quid a night might have had a room with a view !!
The breakfast was good but not alot of options and you had to pay for anything hot which considering the price of a room was abit annoying
Overall the we had a lovely time but you are paying alot for the style of the place and well for nearly 500 pounds for 2 nights I wanted perfection or at least a hot breakfast .

Room Tip: You get what you pay for . The more expensive the better the room . We paid for a better room but h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    167
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
343
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

A stylish and chic hotel which is situated near some great restaurants and cafés. It is in a good district and a very pleasant walk by the canals to the Van Gogh and the Rijks Museums. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are some good touches and attention to details, such as, a small drink and warm towel on our arrival, a DVD and complimentary bottled water in the room.
Breakfast was nicely presented with good quality produce. However, the selection was limited and I was surprised that one has to pay extra for cooked breakfast, which is unexpected for a hotel of this calibre and considering the price paid per night. We stayed for three nights and feel the black decor is oppressive.
At the bar, we asked for cocktails on our first night but was told they did not do these by the girl who served us. However, a couple of nights later, we saw some guests drinking cocktails.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catmother70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked this break at very short notice and had high hopes of this hotel. We were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and friendly and our room was excellent. Was it a perfect stay? Well of course not as nothing is perfect but we certainly struggled to find even a minor fault we could latch on to. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorpeland, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at the Canal House but it will not be our last. We stayed in room 20 that is only reached by climbing some very steep stairs (don´t go down if you have had a few drinks) and it was worth the climb. It was a large, open plan space with three large windows overlooking the canal. The bathroom is open to the sleeping area (toilet is separate), which works well here and leaves the entire space open to see the canal. We enjoyed the bar area after a long day of walking around Amsterdam. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. This is a good small hotel for a romantic visit; don´t pick this hotel if you have trouble with stairs but if you can stay here do it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal are excellent - ask about stair or elevator access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

A gem in the heart of Amsterdam. I had a whirlwind trip to Amsterdam, but wanted a beautiful hotel albeit for only one short night. Canal House lived up to and exceeded expectation. Everything about this hotel was lovely. The staff were so helpful, even opening the bar for us and ordering a take out pizza at 2am after we came back to the hotel from a very very long day. Over and above the call of duty but it gives the hotel a real edge.
The rooms are small but beautifully formed.. Breakfast was lovely.. Location great… I couldn’t have asked for more from a hotel.
If in Amsterdam I will return. I will certainly be staying at the sister hotels in Paris and the UK if I get a chance: (L’hotel Paris, and Cowley Manor Cotswolds UK).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

A special 'thank you' to the staff that made this place a great option for Amsterdam, a notoriously difficult city when it comes to accommodation. Although it does not come at a cheap price, this hotel is an excellent option for the occasional tourist and the business traveller. My room was simply lovely: cosy, not too big and not too small, very well decorated, with a nice and modern shower with toilet and sinks in the bedroom. I was greeted with a delicious ginger and white tea cocktail and then assisted by a wonderful staff throughout my stay, including a lady who helped me order pizza in my room through a Dutch website. When you have a staff like that everything else is slightly less relevant... Good minibar and good continental breakfast with eggs etc as additional option on request. Loved it, definitely recommend it, my best experience in Amsterdam so far.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

FIRST AND FOREMOST: MAKE ABSOLUTELY SURE THAT IF USING A BOOKING SITE YOU DONT INADVERTENTLY GET SENT TO AND BOOK A SIMILARLY NAMED 3* hotel on outskirts of city!!! We did.....let us tell you how the real Canal House saved the day (and my wife's birthday weekend treat!)

We arrived relatively late on a Thursday evening due to the wind storms in the uk. Using a very well known booking site (which I use regularly) it pushed us to a similarly named new hotel that I booked all the while thinking if booked Canal House!

We had no booking!

Apart from being disorientated by this and briefly and wrongly deciding to go to the other hotel (which we did by cab and did an immediate about turn back to Canal House), we we're re-greeted with total grace and elegance by the gent and lady in duty (5/12/13) who organised a room for us in thurs and fri (leaving us without a room sat) - that was great for now.

The room was in the eves of the roof and was unique and quirky and beautifully appointed: look at the website it's wonderfully decorated

The tour of the room features was comprehensive and the toiletries to use during your stay were very nice too.

The artwork really compliments the atmosphere of the establishment and the staff were superb.

TO THE MANAGEMENT - please thank the chap with specs and the lady with blonde hair. He accommodated us a late evening snack in the lounge and she rang round similar hotels to try and sort our Saturday evening accommodation: both a credit to the hotel.

Location is perfect. On the emperors canal in the classiest part of town: perfect for couples and growing families.

Unreservedly recommended and with thanks for making our stay so chic and memorable


  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Property: Canal House
Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing