We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel, great location, great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #20 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
St Pete FL
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location, great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in an Exceptional room with Canal views from three large window. The staff is super friendly and helpful and seem to really want to help you have a wonderful trip. The breakfasts are nice but pretty standard with pastries, breads, granola, fruits, meats and cheeses. The hotel has no kitchen. Our room was very comfortable and spacious for Amsterdam. As American's we found it odd that the bath and shower were part of the living space, but we adjusted. The only real drawback was all the steep stairs to walk up to get to our room. This was taxing after a day of walking around the city. The location is convenient to most of the areas you would want to get to in the city. The tram is a few minute walk.

Very nice stay. I would go back,

Room Tip: Exceptional Room was very nice and spacious with a wonderful canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanna364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    167
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
343
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed one night on our way to Africa. Arrived very tired after a long flight. The rooms are nice and quiet for sleeping and the curtains are quite heavy which kept out the sunshine. We had a "better room" but there was no view except that of another wall. I didn't mind too much because we were only there one night, but wouldn't have loved looking at it for several days. The inside of the hotel is a little bit of a maze and we easily got confused in the hallways. The outdoor courtyard is really lovely and quite unique for Amsterdam. Would be nice to sit and enjoy a glass of wine out there. We enjoyed the breakfast of cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts, croissants, etc. which is included in your room rate. The location is really good, in Jordaan district and close to some nice spots to eat or have a drink along the canals. We walked to the hotel from the train station and it was totally manageable, about a 15 minute walk. Wifi was included in the rate and worked fine. The staff were friendly, and offered us a cool drink when we arrived, showed us our room, and brought up the luggage. I loved the bathtub, one of the nicest ever. The price was not that cheap, but this is Amsterdam after all. Overall a nice stay. If I stayed again for a few days, I would definitely request a room with a better view.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duncan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is in a very picturesque part of Amsterdam - the Keizergracht - and perfectly situated for seeing the main sites of the city. We enjoyed the quirkiness of the plush and rather decadent interiors. The decor is a kind of goth/glam (think black and gold) with many of the original house's features preserved. The breakfast room was particularly attractive. We chose a "great" room looking over the back which had a lovely view of the garden and mature trees. It had two sinks in the middle of the room and the bath/shower was not separate which might pose a problem to those who prefer more intimacy.... The staff were all charming and helpful - we thought it was a great hotel, if a little pricey.

Room Tip: If you don't want noise, request a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tintorettoGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Canal House is perfectly located. Everything to see is a short walk or tram ride. The staff are amazing-early AM coffees in the dining room before it opened for breakfast-to making reservations, buying tickets to museums, and dispensing excellent advice.
Very friendly and gracious at all times. We spent four nights here and will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a canal view. I would recommend paying the price for the view. We were very pleased that our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidSta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level Contributor
289 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a small (23 rooms) hotel, with a great location in the middle of Amsterdam, in a fantastic setting that allows for a small backyard garden. The setting also is the reason because is so confuse inside and with a lot of steep stairs.
The staff is nice and friendly but the first flaw was the lack of WiFi during the 5 days i stayed there. Not only the lack of WiFi but the inability of fixing an apparently server problem. And i don't like the first answer they gave to me that "the WiFi is down and now is Saturday and no one works during the weekend at the computer company" (No staff on call???)
The room was very good although i had stayed in a medium size one and not in the smaller ones. I liked a lot the bathroom and the bed. The toiletries were very good also and the blu ray player with some free movies to see was a nice touch.
The breakfast was the second major flaw because, although is composed of fresh products the variety was lacking and with no hot options people get tired after the first two or three days, The breakfast room was superb and with a nice view to the garden.
I dont like also the fact that my credit card was charged a caution and that i had to ask to cancel it in the end of my stay.
And i never have stayed in a city hotel that closes is doors at midnight...
Overall a nice hotel with everything to be a great small boutique hotel, but misses some important things.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Canal House was perfectly located for us, near all transportation and services, as well as Anne Frank House and Westertoren. The garden was lovely after a hard day's museum-going. Peaceful outdoor space is such a refresher in the summer and we certainly enjoyed our Aperol Spritzes! Rooms were cramped, but well appointed. The layout of the hotel is a puzzle: hard to negotiate the narrow, steep stairs and nearly impossible to get from one end of the hotel to the other without losing your way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Canal House at 148 Keizersgracht is now one our favorites in the "Small Luxury Hotels" group...and we've stayed in several of them around the world.
The location is absolutely perfect for people like us who love to walk and want to see the most beautiful and important parts of historical Amsterdam.
The Anne Frank house is literally around the corner (order tickets a head of time online!) The Van Gogh and Reiksmuseum are just a fun filled 20 minute walk away...also, book online in advance. The VG is amazing!
The folks at the Canal House were completely professional, smart, young, warm, funny, adorable...LOVE LOVE LOVE this hotel, and it's staff. The continental breakfast was fantastic...scads and scads of high end, freshly made croissant, danish, fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices with made to order eggs, capuccino, espresso, salad...it may have been the best continental breakfast we've ever had.
To address a subject that one of the other reviewers brought up...the canal/sewer smell. Yes, it was there, but it was only late at night, and frankly, it didn't seem to bother us as we were out and about all day anyway.
Our suite with a view room was lovely. Immaculate. Large. Sunny. With a dead on killer view of the canal. Velvet coverlet and throw pillows on the bed and sofa, ultra high thread count/sateen pillowcases and sheets, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on, delicious bath soaps, gels, shampoos...and a magic black box of all sorts of yummy toiletries.
I love this hotel and plan on returning as soon as we have time...they also have a sister property in the north of England that we hope to visit as well.
Xoxo

Room Tip: Suite with a canal view on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Property: Canal House
Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing