We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in beautiful Jordaan”
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #21 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a fabulous area of Amsterdam - Jordaan. I'll list below the pros and cons of the hotel:-

+ Staff - front office manager was exceptional - helpful, friendly with some spot on restaurant recommendations - also another of the Asian staff was great. Congratulations on friendly and efficient service.

+ Ambience/design - it's a beautiful property with old paintings on the walls - a superb blend of retaining a 17th century townhouse and modern clean lines. The dining room is stunning.

+ Garden - one of the most beautiful hotel gardens in Amsterdam? So peaceful and relaxing to return after the hustle and bustle of the city. It is well designed and scores high on the 'zen' factor.

+ Location - you are in one of the most beautiful parts of Amsterdam, a stone's throw from Anne Frank's house and other interesting attractions.

-Rooms - small is the name of the game in Amsterdam which is fair enough, but there is a major design flaw in the composition of the room we stayed in. The toilet/restroom was within the actual room and not soundproofed! This is just unacceptable for a four star hotel and very unusual. They should take note of nearby Toren's rooms to see how they do it. Have small rooms but you do need to separate the bathroom and toilet areas - this is essential.

-Breakfast - it is very good overall, but no cooked omelettes or other items means that it isn't that great on variety. The cheeses and cold meats are very good though. Again, having stayed at The Toren, it wins here too.

Overall, we really enjoyed the warm hospitable stay at this great hotel. The garden is an oasis and the location is pretty much unbeatable. The only thing that prevents me from giving five stars is the toilet in room and the lack of hot breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden ensure a decent nights sleep. Ask about whether you can hear the toilet...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Londoner016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Canal House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 678 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very nice and cosy hotel in a very heart of Amsterdam. Takes 5 minutes to Dam Square, Red light district and so on. You feel more like home then a hotel, service is excellent, rooms are not enormous in size, but the space is very well organized. Very unique design.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 nights in early July and would highly recommend this boutique gem in the Jordaan area of Amsterdam. It is just 10 minutes’ walk from the central station and is located right around the corner from the Anne Frank House as well as being a 15 minute walk to the Nine Streets shopping area. There are several restaurants nearby and delicatessens where you can grab a salad or quiche and sit along the canal to enjoy. I would not hesitate in staying here again as it is in a quieter area with more locals while still within walking distance (10 minutes) to the main noisier tourist centre. Amsterdam is such a safe city, it is relaxing to walk anywhere at anytime.

The staff were extremely polite and helpful and the hotel design is really well executed with dark interiors which creates a very relaxing and homely atmosphere. There is a great attention to detail in the internal finishes. The breakfast room overlooks the garden and is a pleasant room to enjoy breakfast in, where we would sit for a good 40 minutes each morning. The waiters were so friendly and remembered our specific order for eggs and coffee each day, which is a special touch.

Beds were extremely comfortable, which is a must in any hotel!

I loved the fact that the bath was in the bedroom so you could enjoy a bath while listening to music courtesy of the provided iPod dock or watch a dvd, again the hotel provides a huge range of dvds from all genres. If, however, you are planning to stay here with a relative or friend who is not your partner, then I would request a room with a more conventional ensuite bathroom! The complimentary water was a welcome daily item. I also liked the fact that the hotel provides large size Green and Spring bath oil/shower gel/body lotion/shampoo/conditioner as this meant we could enjoy a proper bath or shower unlike at most hotels where 2 people have to share a miniature bottle per day!

I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for a romantic luxury break.

Room Tip: Go for the Better Room - worth the extra money for the extra space! Room overlooking the garden was...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Londoner374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for a night recently when passing through Amsterdam and wish we could have extended our trip. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Central Station and is really easy to find. It's also great base for all of the main tourist attractions. The rooms well designed in a very stylish way with a really comfortable bed and great bathroom products. The hotel itself has a nice bar so we started the evening with some cocktails before heading out. The staff are extremely helpful and knowledgable about the local area and we got some great dinner and drinks recommendations. The buffet breakfast was really good with very attentive staff. My favourite part of this hotel though was the little garden at the back. When the sun is out, it's a very peaceful place to sit out and have a drink or do some reading. We're due back in Amsterdam in the autumn and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is simply stunning. The rooms were all of a good size and the decor beautiful. Although some areas get a little too warm in summer it all seems to cool down by the end of the day. The service was mostly excellent and Peter was an absolute pleasure to deal with. Thank you for such a great start to our Europe trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph_Ancora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a hotel that has really thought about the needs of its guests. We stayed in room 13 which has a large comfortable bed with good lighting to read by, a small but very well designed bathroom with large shower and lovely toileries, fluffy towels and bathrobe, and good spaces for seating and storage. The staff are friendly and efficient offering help and advice when needed and really make you feel welcome. The continental Breakfast is served from 7:30 to 11:00 in a large elegant dining room overlooking the garden so you dont feel pressured into an early start and can instead relax and enjoy the great breads, pastries and fresh fruit. The garden is an absolutely wonderfull place to sit out with a light snack or a glass of wine and just chill after seeing the sights. We look forward to returning and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place with individual personality and style.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JayneHTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

“I really love the vibrancy of Amsterdam; the mix of old-world museums with an energetic 21st-century culture. Canal House perfectly captured this for me. A row of 17th-century merchants’ houses has been transformed into an up-to-the-minute hotel with funky, eclectic decor. Interiors have apparently been inspired by the light and palette of Dutch Old Masters and the effect is very glam and very dramatic. It is modern, but with a few historical touches such as antiques and classic art alongside mid-century furniture and contemporary photography. Definitely a place to show off your fashion street cred: the restaurant is as much as hipster see-and-be-seen spot as it is a good evening option. However, style never trumps substance - I felt I was in good hands for the entire stay, with friendly and efficient staff as well-versed in the classics as they were in more contemporary ideas for activities (like the don’t-miss Sunday arts market)."

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,191 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
746 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 371 in Amsterdam
610 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $302 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing