We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Chic and Stylish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #20 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Chic and Stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Canal House last weekend as a birthday treat (for me). We simply loved it - it was beautifully and stylishly decorated with a truly eclectic mix of 'things'...The bedroom was small but had everything you'd need and the bed was extremely comfy.
The staff were very helpful and pointed us in the direction of a couple of excellent restaurants. We were heading to the Paradiso for a concert and they suggested a local place to eat afterwards which turned out to be a real highlight. So you can rely on their recommendations.

It was in a super location...right on the canal (clue is in the name!), close to Anne Franks's House and within 15 mins or so from other attractions. Although i recommend you carry the address with you as no taxi driver we spoke to had heard of it...so discreet too!
It's pretty pricey, although everywhere of a similar standard seems to be in Amsterdam these days - so comparing like for like and it's within your budget i'd definitely recommend it. Enjoy...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshirelittleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    167
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
343
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The bedroom was super! Elegant and comfortable at the same time with a big window. Great shower.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The only thing to point is the breakfast that doesn't have a lot of choices but for a small boutique hotel is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at the Canal House one evening on a business trip. It was really...great. The staff is exceptionally kind and helpful, the design of the hotel is unique...very trendy but done well. Great light fixtures, wall decor etc. and the room design is modern but with very high windows, plenty of natural light etc.The rooms include your typical amenities plus a BluRay player, free Wifi, hairdryer, minibar and complimentary bottled water. The bathrooms are great! (I feel like a hotel bathroom can make or break a place.) Full sized shampoo/conditioner/soap in the rainfall shower. There is a separate deep soaking tub for those of you who get the time to enjoy it (I unfortunately did not). The bed is fabulous...huge fluffy white down comforter, matching pillows...just really great. This is a hotel room I wouldn't mind being sick in, and forced to stay in this bed all day and not have to leave. The only negative is the hotel doesn't have a fitness center, but I got over that quickly (going for a run along the canal is an easy fix).
I can't think of any reason to not stay here. So you should. I definitely will again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Last week we stayed at the Canal House, a small 23-roomed Amsterdam city hotel. Reservations dpt. was very helpful to fulfill our requests: a canal view room with separate shower. The entrance hall of the hotel was nicely decorated with different kinds of black picture frames. The lobby is actually situated in the same room as the (small and cosy, mysteriously whilst trendy lit) hotel bar, which makes checking in quite an enjoyable thing to do. Hotel staff is really friendly , giving you a very warm welcome.

We booked the Exceptional Room, no. 12, located on the first floor, with a wonderful view to the canal. This spacious room was beautifully decorated in dark/purple colours, matching (photo) paintings, big kingsize bed with lovely soft sheets, bathroom with walkin shower and bathtub placed into the room, just like the two wash basins that appeared to be too small, separated from the shower area by a glass wall. Bathroom toiletries were abundantly available from the deliciously scent Green & Spring. There are several chairs and a sofa available in the room to enjoy reading your book or just the fabulous canal view. Magazines are available as well as information about the town, just like the Bose iPod docking station next to the bed. Which by the way is placed right next to the entrance door. We can imagine when having a romantic weekend, this might lead to a bit of a privacy problem… ;-)

Breakfast as well as snacks and appetizers are being served in the restaurant called The Great Room, located at the back of the hotel near the garden. Breakfast is not too extensive: just bread, croissants, diluted orange juice, different kinds of jams, cheese and meats. Scrambled eggs nor fried eggs are available; they can only cook you an egg if you wish. We think the limited breakfast is a disadvantage in such a luxury environment.

However, we do understand why George Michael loved to stay at this hotel instead of the bigger and more famous ones: it's not only decorated very tastefully, the personal way the Canal House treats you, gives you the feeling of being a real valued guest. Thank you for a lovely stay; we'll return for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WithoutBoundaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
299 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated on Keizersgracht and offers beautiful views of boats and birds on the canal, as well as beautiful architecture. A photographers dream - and that's just from the room. We stayed in the "Best room" - read most expensive. While pricey, it was certainly a most delightful stay! It snowed a lot during our stay and we didn't mind staying in the room to watch the changing colours on the water. When we did go sightseeing, most everything was within easy walking distance (we enjoy walking!). Canal House definitely is a great place to stay when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two night. We were on the first floor with a big windows facing the canal.
Room was very small but beautifully decorated. Unfortunately you could hear all noise from the street so every car, bile or just people talking while walking by were interrupting your sleep. Make sure to ask fir a upper floor or just more quiter room.
Otherwise breakfast buffet's selection was limited but still fresh and good.
Service here is good. Also the very small bar in the lobby is nice.
For me the last stay here, The Dylan close by is just much better in every way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleFox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I LOVED our stay at the Canal House and here is why:

- the impossible-to-improve-upon location: on the Keizersgracht, minutes away from the Negen Straatjes shopping area. There is no doubt that you are IN Amsterdam.
- the wonderfully enthusiastic welcome: I don’t know if this is always the case, but on our arrival a staff member leapt into the corridor (ala Ginger Rogers) with a big hello and welcoming smile. Often ‘boutique hotels’ feel a bit stiff and snooty and take themselves very seriously, but here it was not the case. It was very refreshing.
- the dramatic and very beautifully decorated room. We had booked a Great Room and were upgraded - yay! - to an Exceptional Room. It was super-stylish and very comfortable with a great view over the canal and BY FAR the best choice of in-room reading material I have ever found in a hotel (current issues of Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, Vanity Fair etc. and one or two other more alternative publications, as well as a stack of books probably left by previous guests). Another best ever was the hairdryer: I never thought I would feel fondness towards a hairdryer in a hotel, but it really was a fine piece of machinery.
- the service: for example, we ordered a bottle of sparkling water and I had hardly put the phone down when it arrived at our door. Where was he hiding with the water to be able to get to us so quickly? It will remain a mystery. The staff overall were eager to help and full of advice and good suggestions.
- a breakfast room which is a Dutch design treat. With good coffee and excellent croissants. They could, however, improve on the selection for breakfast and more fruit would be welcome.
Two aspects of the hotel may or may not be problematic for you (neither one bothered us):
- you must be willing to bath in public. The bath in our room, is, well, in the room and affords no privacy. Unless you are on a trip with your partner, this might be tricky.
The very steep and very narrow stairs leading up to the room (and no elevator). Not easy to negotiate if you are perhaps a bit less agile or more rickety.

Room Tip: The stairs leading up to the rooms are very steep and very narrow (and no elevator). Not easy to neg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JezebelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Property: Canal House
Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing