We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun”
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #22 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights here end of last year and liked it. Service at reception was well-meaning but a bit distracted. The overall black-walled aesthetic was both stylish and warm; a vibe that extended to the rooms.
We didn't make much use of the restaurant/breakfast-room but it looked cool.
The location was great.
Staircases internally were vertiginous - not a problem for us, but maybe don't stay here if you have issues with stairs. There's a lift though, so maybe work-around-able.
In short - I didn't delve too deeply into this hotel, but it had a nice vibe, with a good balance of warmth and style, and so it did exactly what I wanted it to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 695 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is really charming!
The staff is nice, helpful and professional and the service is impeccable :)
Rooms are original and offer a nice comfort!
I also had dinner at the restaurant of the hotel and the quality of food was really good.
Really recommended :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location with nice canal view (we stayed in one of the 'better room') very friendly & helpful staff. Cool & stylish lounge. We really enjoyed our stay there and will definitely recommend to our fds!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xichezxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Canal House for 2 nights over the New Year period as a treat to both of us. The hotel was in a great location, nice and quiet at night but only a 5-10 minute walk away from the hustle and bustle of the centre.

The room was beautiful at every detail. Our one gripe was that even with the heaters turned off, the room was too warm/stuffy, which for December is surprising and despite the most comfortable bedding we've ever slept in, woke up a few times in the middle of the night.

All of the staff were excellent and accommodating from the moment we walked through the door. Special mention must go to Niels, Paulo and Andy. They would be an asset to any workforce.

Our other gripe and the reason why we are giving it just 4/5 was the breakfast. No cooked breakfast at this price was disappointing. Some nice bacon and eggs of some Waffles or crepes would have been perfect.

We had a great New Year though. Thanks to all at Canal House for that!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was in Amsterdam on business during December 2012. Stayed at the Canal House Hotel on Keizersgracht. Very chique, very nice. Only 23 rooms. Very well decorated rooms. All rooms are different. Very though hotelis small and common space limited, the rooms were a very generous size. Service was first class. Nice little bar. Walking distance to nice shops and restuarants.

Room Tip: Room 22 has high ceilings and sky lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Before we start - we had "The Best Room" as noted in their website. Other rooms we saw were smaller, but none the less well done. We chose "The Best Room" because for the price and our wants in Amsterdam it met all needs. The room is the top floor. Breakfast was good, breakfast service excellent. Front desk staff are helpful and provide good recommendations. Being on the canal it was quieter than expected, and at night beautiful. The garden area to the back of the hotel is glorious, even in winter. A 2 minute walk to the tram. Restaurants encircle the hotel on adjacent streets. The recommendations on the website are a bit of a walk. Try DiVino Winebar, Tasca Bellota for tapas, etc. There is an a elevator to take you upstairs to the rooms. Look at the website when you make your choice. This is a great hotel for any visit to Amsterdam if you are looking for a luxury experience in a small hotel with great service.

Room Tip: Use the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a finer introduction to Amsterdam. A stunning small hotel on a canal in a charming, upscale neighborhood, it's near the Anne Frank House Museum, wonderful restaurants and shops. Located within an easy walk to the Dam, the tram to renowned museums and Centraal Station, you're sure to find that the staff is gracious, friendly and extremely helpful, and truly made our stay memorable. The rooms are chic and comfortable. And the beautiful dining room serves a delicious breakfast (don't miss the freshly baked croissants) that was the perfect welcome after a long night flight from the US.

Room Tip: There were no kids activities or pool, but I couldn't change the rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,341 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,872 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $217 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing