We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anne Frank House

Anne Frank House
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.86*
and up
Anne Frank and Jewish Quarter Guided Walking Tour in Amsterdam
Ranked #2 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit the hiding place where Anne Frank wrote her diary during the Second World War. From 9 AM to 3:30 PM the museum is only open to visitors with an online ticket for a particular timeslot. Tickets are made available on the website two months in advance. The Anne Frank House is a small museum with limited capacity. The demand for tickets is far greater than the number available. If you are unable to buy an online ticket, you can always from 3:30 PM until closing time visit the museum and buy a ticket at the museum entrance.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
286 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Amazing piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

All I need to say is that the line for this 'attraction' is worth the wait 100%!
Pieces of history like this are a rare occurrence and this place gives you a chilling, but amazing insight to how Anne and her family lived for 2 years.
This is a MUST when visiting Amsterdam.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41,827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27,511
    10,030
    2,998
    833
    455
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting and compelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Excellent, a 'must do' but buy tickets in advance, the queues are huge, even at 7pm at night.

The visit once inside takes 1 -2 hours, filing round in an orderly fashion, as expected the building in places is confined and steep steps. But it is very cleverly done very quiet peaceful experience befitting of the subject. Would not think young children would enjoy it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Important Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Visiting the Anne Frank House was an important part of my holiday. I found everything well laid out and explained through plaques and videos. It was very moving to stand in the room where Anne spent her time and to see the rest of the house. Allow at least one hour to tour the house. Picture taking is not permitted.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolilydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Can't Miss for Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Whether you are in the city for a day or a month, it's a great and moving experience. I completely missed the very long lines that I read about in other comments, and I was there in prime tourist season. I showed up around 6PM and walked right in with my Museumkaart that I had purchased earlier in the day from another small museum. For those who have mobility issues, there is one area where the staircase is pretty steep as you move about the house.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoneTravelin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A moving experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Worth the queues to get a moving account of the tragic story of Anne Frank and her family. Definitely a must do in Amsterdam.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlwill23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anne Frank House also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Anne Frank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing