We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see”
Review of Anne Frank House

Anne Frank House
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.93*
and up
Jewish Quarter Anne Frank Walking Tour in Amsterdam
More Info
$106.52*
and up
Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise with 4-course Dinner and Drinks
More Info
$22.14*
and up
Amsterdam Evening Canal Cruise
Ranked #2 of 518 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit the hiding place where Anne Frank wrote her diary during the Second World War. From 9 AM to 3:30 PM the museum is only open to visitors with an online ticket for a particular timeslot. Tickets are made available on the website two months in advance. The Anne Frank House is a small museum with limited capacity. The demand for tickets is far greater than the number available. If you are unable to buy an online ticket, you can always from 3:30 PM until closing time visit the museum and buy a ticket at the museum entrance.
Soufrière, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Read the book then go visit the actual place. You will feel a connection which can not be described. You will have a new appreciation for what the Jewish people went through during Hitlers term. Then go to the camps where the people where taken to die.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29,928
    10,680
    3,186
    888
    496
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Respect”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Must do while in Amsterdam. Booked through viator.com as part of city tour totally worth it as no waiting in line. Amazing the story and courage the Frank family and cohabitants had. Be respectful please abide by the few simple rules.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank coronashines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sadly not a highlight....”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I understand this is one of the must see tourist sights in Amsterdam but there were way too many people inside.

I bought my tickets online as I'd heard the queues are crazy (they are) so I sailed through the dedicated entrance however once inside there were so many people that you couldn't really see anything, queues of people up the numerous staircases, rooms full of people.... Also, I was surprised to see that the house was totally empty and I didn't feel like id learnt anything - I was expecting so see the diaries throughout, and the rooms to be reconstructed to show how the families lived. Also, I was expecting to get a feel of how they lived, what happened after they were captured and the lives of the survivors after the war... Maybe I was expecting too much!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L0nd0ne14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must Visit while in Amsterdam”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It is best to book in advance as we had to wait in a long queue. It's also best to wear flat shoes as there is a lot of steep stairs to climb. It is very interesting and also very moving seeing how they had to live while in hiding. Every item in the house is labelled telling you about them and there are also leaflets as you enter the house in different languages. It's well worth a visit while you are in Amsterdam.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank laffertyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only place I got to see and worth it”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My stay in Amsterdam was cut short due to illness so this is where I chose to visit as I've always had a fascination with Anne Frank, her family, and had just completed a book by Meip Gies. Everything was exactly the way I had imagined it and extremely sobering. It was very crowded with tourist so you really had to focus. I want to go back someday and research the best time of day to visit the museum.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Applescruff1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anne Frank House also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Anne Frank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing