We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book a ticket!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anne Frank House

Anne Frank House
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.96*
and up
Anne Frank and Jewish Quarter Guided Walking Tour in Amsterdam
Ranked #2 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit the hiding place where Anne Frank wrote her diary during the Second World War. From 9 AM to 3:30 PM the museum is only open to visitors with an online ticket for a particular timeslot. Tickets are made available on the website two months in advance. The Anne Frank House is a small museum with limited capacity. The demand for tickets is far greater than the number available. If you are unable to buy an online ticket, you can always from 3:30 PM until closing time visit the museum and buy a ticket at the museum entrance.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Book a ticket!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Get your tickets before arriving, you can order these online, from your hotel or from the booking office prior to your stay.
Be prepared to queue in rain or shine, alternatively arrive 30mins prior to closing time of 6pm and you should be able to walk straight in.
Interesting layout and historical content, eerie atmosphere but I really enjoyed the experience. A sense of total abandonment of all reality and an opportunity to be transported back in time, excellent use of video projections.
Don't miss it out!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fitzy_Witzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27,625
    10,063
    3,005
    840
    456
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Humbling to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

It was very humbling to see where the Frank family lived in hiding but the queues to get in were incredilble and once inside, it was very cramped due to the number of people allowed in which spoilt it for me.

Still glad to have been though.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pantin, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Worth the visit. Rather steep stairs so be warned. You can book your tickets on line first which is a good idea as the mornings there are a lot of people.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank vcraigdefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Although relatively expensive (€9 for adults, no student discount) this is an absolute must-do attraction. I was part way through reading the book when I visited, which is why I enjoyed it so much - I can now really visualise what Anne is talking about when I'm reading. If you haven't read the book, there is information on the walls throughout, however I can't imagine it will be a very interesting experience. Essentially, you are just walking around a big building, but if you are open minded and have an interest in Anne's story, then I would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
138 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Anne Frank House Amsterdam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you have extra time in Amsterdam AND have knowledge of the history of Anne Frank or have read her diary, then you would find the Anne Frank House interesting. There are lots of original stuff and videos to add to your knowledge. However the room where they hid is not so small as we imagined. But still it was worth visiting if you are interested in this history. Go early as the line was very long and we waited for 2 hours to get to the entrance.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ron k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anne Frank House also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Anne Frank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing