We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day at Van Gogh!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Museumplein 6, 1071 DJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))
+31 20 570 5200
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$50*
and up
Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam
Ranked #3 of 447 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the world's largest collection of works by Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, featuring masterpieces such as Sunflowers, The Potato Eaters, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great day at Van Gogh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice atmosphere - very comfortable. Disappointed that Sunflowers was loaned out and on tour - primary reason for my visit! :-(

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sml01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30,964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19,273
    8,580
    2,458
    457
    196
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good... but missing the key works!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

me and two friends spent a morning at this museum, as we read nearly everything! This museum is really good. I can't actually remember the price but I think it was worth it. There was lots of wonderful art with some pieces by other artists too, so great for any art lovers. We also got the audio guides which were on iPhone style things and had some interaction too. I think these were just 3euros or something so very worth it. The reason I have only given a 3 star is that some of the key works, such as the sunflowers, starry sky, the one with the chair (I don't know the actual names) were not there on this occasion and we were quite disappointed, especially as we weren't informed. Aside from that a great place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paintboxexplosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pictures don't do it justice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It wasn't a large exhibit but I could have easily spent a week looking at some of the pieces. I'm a little sad that time has taken it's toll on the artwork and would so very much like to see all of the works of art restored to their former glory.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoeMak86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Van Gogh 101”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Amazing pieces of art heritage, as well as forensic and reconstruction techniques are on display at the museum. Anyone who hasn't heard of Van Gogh could easily become a Van Gogh expert.

Helpful?
Thank Bora A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well managed, plus a great cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We showed up early, right at the opening, but after about 20 minutes in line, the experience was quite good. Despite the museum's popularity, the administration limits the number of visitors and takes security seriously. The selection of paintings is actually not super impressive (sorry, but most of the great Van Gogh's are not in the Netherlands), but there are many early paintings that you might not have seen anywhere before and good information about the artist's life and painting style. After your visit, stop by the cafe. It's cafeteria style with tons of really good, fresh options. Actually one of the best meals in Amsterdam.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank roxette521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing