We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.48*
and up
Van Gogh Museum Entrance Ticket and Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Boat Day Pass
Ranked #3 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the world's largest collection of works by Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, featuring masterpieces such as Sunflowers, The Potato Eaters, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

you can find the best work of Van Gogh and also enjoy a nice coffee at the museum coffee shop after your tour. the shop is full of surprises with various gift options.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25,703
    11,026
    3,098
    590
    269
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Art is very much to ones taste, however I thought for 15 euros, this was overpriced. You need to be an Van Gogh lover to appreciate his art.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie_williamswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Passion for Art, love for Van Gogh ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Everything is fantastic ... and if you like, a free app is available for your smartphone! Simply fantastic :-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Easily one of my favorite museums in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wow. And I thought that I was tired of art museums. I just finished studying abroad in the UK and in the past three and a half months I've been to a crap ton of art museums. But this is easily one of the best museum experiences I've ever had. At first I balked a bit at the 15 Euro price tag (no student discounts, unfortunately) but it was worth it. They organized the museum chronologically from the ground floor up, and I learned more about Van Gogh's art and how it evolved over time than they ever mention in the traveling exhibitions I've seen. You can take no-flash photos of some of the paintings but not others--there will be a crossed-out camera next to the painting if it's not allowed.

It was a little crowded but not so much that it detracted from the experience, but then again I went in mid-December. I imagine it's more crowded in the summer, but definitely go if you are in Amsterdam. In the park near the exit there's also a doughnut stand that's out of this world.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
232 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic art in a fantastic museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I love art and am a collector myself. And I love to go to arts museums. And have seen a lot of Van Gogh paintings around the world. But this museum is specially fantastic giving the full Van Gogh story and with some of this worlds most fantastic paintings. It's a must

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing