We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom problems at the Van Gogh”
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.91*
and up
Van Gogh Museum Entrance Ticket and Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Boat Day Pass
Ranked #3 of 510 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the world's largest collection of works by Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, featuring masterpieces such as Sunflowers, The Potato Eaters, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bathroom problems at the Van Gogh”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Van Gogh was very crowded as per usual in August. We delayed getting tickets until after we finished with another museum and could not get in.
As a wheelchair user I found the accessible bathroom to be a real problem. It is large enough and well laid out. HOWEVER, THE FLOOR IS EXTREMELY SLIPPERY! I use crutches to get around, and could not stand without my fee slipping out from under me. This is with a dry floor. I am surprised that there have not been injuries in this bathroom. Be warned.
wheelchairtravel99

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wheelchairtravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27,115
    11,556
    3,219
    630
    293
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A journey through the short life of a genius”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This museum shows the development of Van Gogh's skills in personal, technical and schooling. There is something for all, from the young to the older knowledgeable enthusiast. The layout is structured and dramatic. Above all, this collection of the magic vision of a tortured soul inspires by the superb range of samples of his work. Best museum by far in Amsterdam!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A place to revisit”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We've been to this Museum several times over the past 15 years but we just cannot be in Amsterdam and not visit it again. It is always such an experience to be able to look up close at those magnificent paintings and have the cjance to really "look into them". Never mind the lines, the crowd, the waiting... It is just worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ninetta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Insight into Van Gogh”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am not normally into art, but Van Gogh was once of those people everyone studies at school, it was amazing to see how he changed for the dark-oil paints in the Netherlands to this vibrant and unique style from time spent with other artists and Paris. I thought there would be mention of his personal life as everyone is aware of the issues he encountered but this was not really mentioned- howvwer this is probably just me and it is a musuem of his art not his life.! Hihgly recommend a visist and a picnic on the museum gardens

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PossumJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

An amazing collection of V-Gs work in a wonderfully arranged building. Do book on line first though to avoid the ticket Qs

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ProvinciadiLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing