We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, nice place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Book In Advance
$51*
and up
Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam
Ranked #3 of 450 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the world's largest collection of works by Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, featuring masterpieces such as Sunflowers, The Potato Eaters, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting, nice place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Really liked this museum although unfortunately, some if the works were on loan to other museums so we couldn't see them.
Tip:by tickets online then you don't have to queue to buy tickets, the queue was massive when we went but we had online tickets so went straight in :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pennina21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19,477
    8,652
    2,469
    463
    196
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Superb museum - dreadful management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My friend and I had booked tickets online for a 3pm visit of the museum. We arrived about 20 minutes early and thought that we would go and have a coffee first. But no, we found that you have to join a queue for e-bookings. You do not find this out until you have walked all the way round the museum to the entrance and are then told to walk back to where you came from and now join the ever growing line of people. Why not have signs and queuing tapes and a member of staff out there guiding you? Needless to say, there were a lot of unhappy people.

However, once in we collected our audio headsets and started our tour. Please also be aware that there are no arrows to show you where to start or go around, however after a bit of wandering we went round and thoroughly enjoyed viewing Van Gogh's wonderful works. The audio sets are really great and informative. Watch out for other visitors who literally go in to just take photos of the pictures (there are some you are not allowed to take) and will push to the front.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ecosse Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The recently renovated Van Gogh museum was truly a wonderful experience. The museum features many works by this much loved Dutch artist--some familiar and some not--but it is unique in its ability to give the visitor context for his life and work. Interspersed between Van Gogh's paintings and drawings are the works of his teachers and his contemporaries along with actual materials he used as well as his writings, microscopic analysis of colors, canvases, etc. We were limited for time while visiting, but we managed to see most of the collection within 2 1/2 hours (I would really recommend more time). Note to Holland Pass users: your "fast track" entrance voucher still needs to be redeemed for an actual admission ticket at the museum--you can use the advance purchase line. Lines for general purchase were extremely long, so try to buy in advance or visit later in the day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's a great museeum to visit and know Van Gogh's life. Most of his paintings are there and there's a great audio-guide to listen to the most important ones.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MariaPerez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Sill some surprises...and wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the place where my teenagers and I spent the most single shot of time. Like 4 hours, we just could not tear ourselves away from it. After seeing so many incredibly gorgeous Van Goghs around the world, there were still some surprise images we'd never seen before, and they were fabulous!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing