We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must go museum”
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.91*
and up
Van Gogh Museum Entrance Ticket and Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Boat Day Pass
Ranked #3 of 510 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the world's largest collection of works by Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, featuring masterpieces such as Sunflowers, The Potato Eaters, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom.
Ploudalmezeau, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a must go museum”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I like Van Gogh, I like Amsterdam. You can't go in Amsterdam without a visit in this fantastic Museum.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Papyaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27,115
    11,556
    3,219
    630
    293
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I'm not an art critic”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Quite interesting museum. My husband and I usually find art boring! This is Van Gogh, a must see while In Amsterdam!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Get there early, location is beautiful.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I don't think you can visit Amsterdam without visiting the Van Gogh Museum. The location is pretty easy to find, and the immediate location is beautiful. It can get very busy in the summer months so I'd recommend getting there early, best to enjoy the art with as little people around as possible. The have a very nice gift shop, cafe and the locker/cloak room facilities are very good. The Reich Museum is around the corner, I'd recommend making a day of it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiamRyan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A must to see”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Van Gogh museum is one must visit in Amsterdam. I have been there many times, and am always excited and awed by the pictures of this great artist.
However, be warned. The Dutch art authorities have had a craze for closing and renovating museums. The Van Gogh has been relocated to the Hermitage - and if that follows normal Dutch practice means that only a subset of the pictures will be on display, and the return to the Museum Plaza home may well be delayed. Art gallery renovations seem to seriously overrun in Holland. So check out the location on the internet, or at the WWW shops if in Amsterdam.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroadagn7
Level Contributor
572 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Just make sure you go to the Hermitage....”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were early on in our day trip to Amstersdam when we learned that the Van Gogh Museum was closed for renovation but that they have moved a really substantial and varied part of the collection to the Hermitage during this time. We enjoyed seeing these works in this different setting.

Museum has wifi which was nice. And once you're there you can attend the adjacent museum for an extra fee (or a combo ticket I believe is available, but we just went to the VG side.)

Great to see so many by Van Gogh in one place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing