We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't always get what you want.”

Flower Market / Bloemenmarkt
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.20*
and up
Amsterdam Winter Walk City Tour
Ranked #72 of 503 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located on the Singel Canal, the fantastic displays of flowers at this floating flower market is beautiful to behold.
hampshire. england
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“You don't always get what you want.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is a lovely place to stroll, what with the colours and aromas, and you've got to at least buy one tulip bulb from Amsterdam, but buy your bulbs back home. I've had mixed results, even from single variety packs. The chances of having rogue bulbs in the pick your own sections is huge. Buy something as a memory of Amsterdam, but don't colour theme pots back home on the strength of a picture on a sign or packet. I guess you need to go to the nurseries themselves and pay more, or, buy online at home. There is a real mix of shops to the rear of the market including a lovely little pancake shop. It is well worth a walk-through.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank josephine-public
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    896
    644
    216
    109
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best for bulbs”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

brilliant market and a good place to buy bulbs and souveniers good pricesbest to go early in the morning before gets too busy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“do not get ripped off”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very excited about planting in our garden at home bulbs etc bought last week at tge flower market, annoyed and dissapointed that one pack of yellow alliums had only compost in & two of the 10 packs of tulips had 7 in them. If you buy my advise would be check through the packaging or choose the loose stuff. Annoyed and feel ripped off.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BunnyMummy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,067 reviews
697 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,807 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This flower market is amazing & a must visit in Amsterdam, the tulips are grown in every colour imaginable & smell fantastic!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Buy your bulbs here to take home, best choice and cheapest!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Fantastic market, with all sorts of flower bulbs to buy,cut flowers too! They also had exotics and rare bulbs I'd not seen before.
I bought my bulbs here to take home and was so glad, I never saw anything like the variety again and they were up to quarter of the price they were elsewhere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flower Market / Bloemenmarkt also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Flower Market / Bloemenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing