We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadians and Americans can get bulbs here!”

Flower Market / Bloemenmarkt
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.21*
and up
Amsterdam Winter Walk City Tour
Ranked #73 of 510 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located on the Singel Canal, the fantastic displays of flowers at this floating flower market is beautiful to behold.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Canadians and Americans can get bulbs here!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had an enjoyable stroll through the Flower market, passing by clusters of colourful tulips, roses and sunflowers. There's a wide variety of bulbs and seeds on sale (dahlias, peonies, calla lilies, etc) and even cannabis starter kits :)

For Canadians and Americans who want to bring back souvenir tulip bulbs -- avoid the places that export bulbs for you and find the rack of tulip bulbs with a big yellow sign that says "For US and Canada". A bag of 10 bulbs costs 5 € ... a good deal compared to the 12€ bulbs at the airport of middling variety. I got a bag of Rococo bulbs (red with green fringe) and a bag of Triumph Blue for my mom, who mentioned how much bigger the bulbs are than the ones she's seen in our local nurseries. There is a certificate of inspection on the underside of the label -- this is what you show the customs person at the border. I had no problems going through.

Yes, there are also lots of stores selling silly clog trinkets and keychains but just bypass that stuff if you're not into it... instead, go eat at the yummy Indonesian restaurant nearby.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank xjynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    912
    662
    220
    114
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Floating Flower Market Amsterdam”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you like flowers, wanna buy tulip bulbs or just enjoy the colorful shops - this is the place. They also sell souvenirs. It's not far from the city center: just walk along the Singel Canal and you hit it. So many colors and flowers, orchids, and as many tulip bulbs as you want. Visit this place - it is not far from anywhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Haramachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A real disappointment - don't bother”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Flower Market was a real disappointment on a May trip. There were very few flowers - mostly roses - no tulips, except fake ones. Plenty of bulbs and souvenirs for sale with each shop exactly like the previous one. Luckily we stopped by on the walk to the Rijksmuseum, but it isn't worth a specific trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Festina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO,CA
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Flowers???”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Maybe I was in the wrong location, however this area known as the Flower Market had very little in the way of flowers, there for sure were a few, or maybe it was the wrong time of the year May??? but I saw very little in the way of flowering plants. All the shops had bulbs, some potted plants and lots and lots of souvenirs, but that was all. We checked each stall out and were very disappointed. Maybe years ago this was the central flower market, however now it is just a tourist souvenir haunt.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SHERLOCKSanDiego_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Accused of shoplifting and mislead by store owners”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was nice to see; however, I came across a few problems.

I was in the first store and the store worker immediately asked to see my hands out of my pockets as if I was shoplifting. I left that store immediately.

I was also told by multiple store owners that certain tulip bulbs were okay for bringing back to the U.S. Upon landing in the U.S., I was told this was not the case. A certificate was needed to declare that the bulbs were safe for export to the U.S. These bulbs were confiscated from me. My advice here is to look and not to buy. Overall, I left with a very bad taste in my mouth.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank skimmilk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flower Market / Bloemenmarkt also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Flower Market / Bloemenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing