We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Add it to your must see list when in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Museum

Amsterdam Museum
Book In Advance
$14*
and up
Amsterdam Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #51 of 453 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a splendid 17th-century building that was a former civic orphanage, this museum tell the history of Amsterdam through its vast collection of art and artifacts from medieval times to the present.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Add it to your must see list when in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Lovely converted and renovated old orphanage now housing a great interactive museum which makes Amsterdam history come to life. It would interest kids of all ages - I me me and my 86 year old mother! It's got serious stuff and lots of hi-tech video / touch and do displays. It says it would take 45 minutes but I think you could get 2 or 3 hours out of the history (DNA) part on it's own. Wish we had had more time to see it all. Great cafe too - hidden gem with lovely apple cake!

Look on line for ad hoc displays too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    546
    191
    52
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a bad way to get to know Amsterdam's History.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Museum is small, and does not have too much to offer. However its nice to learn about Amsterdam's past. So for that its a good starting point before moving on to some bigger and more impressive museums.

Not too hard to find, easy accessible from Central Station.

However fro €15 euros its a little pricey considering its lack of displays.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nebs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very Good Starting Point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was one of the first places we visited on our trip to Amsterdam. It was a very good place to get an overall feel for the city and its development over the centuries. It was not too busy when we visited and we had relatively easy access to the listening devices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dccv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good General background information”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This museum has some good and bad points. The good points are that it gives you a good background into Amsterdam. If you are looking for width instead of depth of knowledge then this is the place for you. The DNA system is clever. I feel that the kids would enjoy using it.
The bad points is that on a busy day it could annoying. There is only a maximum of four listening devices at a display. This leads to queues and feeling pressurised to move along quickly. Not what you want when you are learning...
Tip:- you get a free coffee, beer or soda with your ticket if you go to the cafe next door. Treat yourself to a Dutch pancake :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I liked this museum because there was LOTS to see. In fact, you may have to just choose what you want to see and skip some of the exhibitions if you need to. This Museum walking distance to Dam Square.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank taycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing