We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golden age” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Museum

Amsterdam Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.74*
and up
Amsterdam Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #48 of 482 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a splendid 17th-century building that was a former civic orphanage, this museum tell the history of Amsterdam through its vast collection of art and artifacts from medieval times to the present.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“golden age”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

go check out old amsterdam in a beautiful historical building situated in one of the oldest parts of town

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Siebrand V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    630
    219
    58
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

good survey of the city's history, with some interactive exhibits. I found the section on Dutch resistance interesting. Cafe and attractive courtyard.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WalrusOfHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam Moshava
Level Contributor
355 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Interesting, Interactive and Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were 'sent' to this museum by one of the street painters we met and talked to, who insisted we should see it. Indeed it had some very interesting surprises to share the information in a creative way. Whoever is interested in understanding the phases and process in which Amsterdam became what it is now, this is the place. And this info is provided in many different medias that make you curious and wanting to keep on learning more. A nice experience for all ages. Something and more for everyone.
Don't miss the almost last exhibit where Amsterdam geographic development is demonstrated from the very start to its current size. Overall, as stated there, this museum really explains the Amsterdam DNA very nicely. And when you're done, visit the nice restaurant which is part of the complex

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OphirB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“informative”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

we wanted to say we had been to a museum and went along to this one, very modern inside and has a modern twist on the past, was very interactive and kept you entertained as you made your way round. explored all different areas and had something to suit everyone. i wasnt as bored as i thought i would be. came out with the feeling that i had learned something.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A very nice place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Well history is everything. People who have no connection to their past wont have a future this place is a must for locals and visitors who wish to have a good understanding of where Amsterdam came from and where is it going.

Bot too expensive and very friendly.

I warmly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gartur j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing