We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,181)
Filter reviews
1,181 results
Traveler rating
655
334
122
43
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
334
122
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationgreat locationthe red light districtsuperior roomwalking distancelovely hotelrooms are spaciousthe hotel staffbuffet breakfastbars and restaurantsan upgradecoffee machineearly checkeasy accessmini barlovely roomlong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,181 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely two night stay here whilst in Amsterdam before getting in a cruise. Hotel is in a very central location a stones throw from the red lighting district and centraal station. We were worried when we were told our room overlooked the canal and was only on the first floor as we thought it would be noisy at night, but it wasn’t at all! Occasionally heard some music when a canal boat drove by, and it would only last for a few seconds. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, we didn’t have the breakfast so can’t comment on it. Would recommend this hotel!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Lori,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We always want to give our guests the extra ordinary feeling during their stay. We are glad to read that we gave you this feeling.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martine Conings
Hotel director
NH Collection Barbizon Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Lovely hotel great location just outside central station. Would highly recommend to anyone lovely rooms great service team, very good location easy access to all main tourist spots, lots of bars and food places near by. Very much worth the money.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review! We highly appreciate this.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We always want to give our guests the extra ordinary feeling during their stay and we are glad to read that we gave you this feeling.

Your comments about the rooms, service and teams will be shared internally. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work.

Indeed we are very fortunate with the location of the hotel. All the touristic attractions are easy to reach by public transport or within a few footsteps.

We hope we can welcome you back soon, so we can give you the extra ordinary feeling again.

Kind regards,

Martine Conings
Hotel Director
NH Collection Barbizon Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Barbizon is located in the fun funky part of town and is very well appointed and run. Especially nice is to walk in to the lobby and find fresh fruit, candies and various cold drinks. Especially with the heat spell we have had. Special thanks to Jane at the front desk, Omar the driver, Daniel the concierge, Alejandro and the other bartender and the bright and fun and funny waitress Randa. They will ensure that we will be back in 2009.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank poems71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Poems,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us via Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be shared internally. Especially with the Front Office, Daniel, Alejandro and Randa. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in 2019! We will do our best to give you the extra ordinary feeling again.

Kind regards,

Martine Conings
Hotel Director
NH Collection Barbizon Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

The location of this hotel is perfect for visitors to Amsterdam. It's near Centraal Train Station, and many places of interest to the vacationer are within walking distance (or a short tram ride). The food in the restaurant was quite good. The folks at the concierge desk were especially helpful. They were great and gave us much information which made our visit more enjoyable. But the staff is business like and professional, but not smiling, friendly, or personable. The biggest problem was at registration. I arrived at the hotel around 1 PM and realized I had to wait til check-in time at 3 PM for a room. Actually it was after 4 PM before I finally was assigned a room. A very frustrating experience.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
2  Thank 665dalep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We appreciate this.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with the staff, especially with the restaurant and concierge staff. They will appreciate this. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work.

Indeed we are very fortunate with the location of the hotel. All the touristic attractions are easy to reach by public transport or within a few footsteps.

We regret the fact that your room was not ready at 15.00 hours. Due to the high occupancy in the hotel it is sometimes hard to have all the rooms ready before 15.00 hours. Your comment will be shared with the team, so we can have a look for a suitable solution.

Nevertheless, we hope you will give us a second change so we can give you the extra ordinary feeling.

Kind regards,

Martine Conings
Hotel Director
NH Collection Barbizon Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Amsterdam was the last stop in our 2018 Europe Summer trip after Paris and Barcelona! We reached NH Barbizon Palace early evening and were booked in a Junior Suite which promised Exquisite Wooden Ceilings atypical to Amsterdam. Wow, it was all that and more...
We met with the lovely Tuan at the Reception, he was a breeze and we got our rooms (Yes, Rooms! It was a Duplex) 225 & 335. The warmest of rooms, simple white linens, white sofa and wood panels. They had the biggest sunflower they could find I think!! A gourmet chocolate platter which we dug into.
V and me chilled in the White Loft and sat by the window hearing the chatter from the street below.
We left for awhile and when we returned the turn down service was done to perfection. Floor Towels & Slippers placed near the bed, the bathrobes hanging and ready for use, the Godiva Chocolates by our bed with fresh water bottles. It was so impressive to see this quality of service.
We had such a lovely time and felt right at home in this Loft. The character of Amsterdam resonates in its architecture with their tiny curvy staircases, confusing windows and their uneven flooring and footpaths were all of an old world that’s promising to stay the same. V and I stayed here for 4 night. It flew by.
NH Barbizon Palace is located in the street of fantastic food, frolic and fun. Walk everywhere, smoke anywhere and the shopping too was great. It’s Perfect! We will return and want the very same room! V & I worked mornings over calls and mails to India & America while eating waffles and drinking coffee. Afternoons we stepped out onto the Hendrikkade street full of things to do.
The Concierge, an older gentleman, I forget his name, marked my map brilliantly and the two bell boys we met were so so nice. The Hotel also gladly allowed a friend to bring her dog for a while at no extra cost. They made you feel absolutely at home in every way.

This place is so special. The City is full of Joy. This Loft will never make you want to leave...

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank PayalLohia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conings M, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Dear PayalLohia,

Wow! Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We highly appreciate this!

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much. We always want to give our guests the extra ordinary feeling during their stay and we are glad to read that we gave you this feeling.

Your review will be shared internally. The staff will appreciate this. We will especially share your review with Tuan and the conciergeteam. This is a great reward for their continuous hard work.

We would be delighted to welcome you back soon in our hotel, to give you the extra ordinary feeling again.

Kind regards,

Martine Conings
Hotel Director
NH Collection Barbizon Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews