We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Slow service, poor cleaning” 1 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Ranked #134 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Slow service, poor cleaning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Room was not cleaned properly, there was food in the mini-bar from the previous guest. Beds are old and uncomfortable and room service extremely slow.
Internet is slow and coverage in some rooms is quite poor.
If you get an exterior room it's too noisy so difficult to sleep.
TVs in the rooms are in general too old (CRT)
Rest is just OKish

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelMadrid_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    937
    502
    200
    119
See reviews for
262
1,030
142
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I love this hotel. Have stayed twice, both times been VERY happy. Was unable to get a smoking room on first visit however we were allocated one as soon as it became available and cleaned. The hotel is stunning inside, the beds are comfortable and very spacious. Directly across from Centraal Station and nearby coffee shops, shops, bars and restaurants. Free WIFI available. The staff were fantastic, we had a very late flight on returning home and although check-out was at 4 (Sunday late check out - amazing) we were allowed to keep our luggage in their storage and hang about the lobby. Would 100% recommend this hotel, it is slightly costly compared to other hotels I've stayed at in Amsterdam but definitely worth the money. ALSO it has lifts!! which is amazing if you try some weed at a coffee shop.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coralbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights literally a couple of days ago. It is in a fantastic location, just 500m or so from the Central Station so most things were walkable from here. Although it's definitiely not a 5 star hotel, I wasn't expecting it to be given the price I paid for my stay. Yes, the decor (apart from a fabulous lobby and reception area) is somewhat dated and could do with a facelift, the rooms were large for a city centre location, very comfortable clean and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and obliging. I didn't eat here as there were just so many other tempting restaurants just minutes away. So to sum up, you get what you pay for, and I would say this was good value for money. Would I stay here again - absolutely!

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the hotel on the top floor, so noise was never an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here for work, great location to the train station and getting out to see Amsterdam. I was at the front of the hotel looking over the canal and the station. The hotel had provided ear plugs for the bedroom. Great lunch was provided and the night we stayed in the hotel for a meal the steak was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was my second stay within the past three years at this property. While the lobby is fresh looking, the location to the train station and a lot of what Amsterdam has to offer is great, the hotel rooms themselves need some urgent refurbishing. It is sooo dated, more like a throwback to the early 80s at best. I can't understand why the hotel won't invest in upgrading their rooms. I have stayed in old hotels in my day and welcomed the charm that their age have given them, but even they have kept the charm while upgrading their rooms. Don't get me wrong, you houldn't have a terrible experience staying here but management can make some important room improvements and bring this back to a four star hotel. I don't know if they care to do this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hotel has great location, nearly in front of railway station, few steps from downtown, tram station. Around hotel are many restaurants, shops, bars.. Hotel is marked as 5stars but in fact it is something between 3 and 4 stars. Room is quite big but with old equipment.
Very bad was room service. After returning to room around 3pm, room was not cleaned yet. Room service came around 5pm what was disturbing for me. On the other hand staff at the reception was always helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi_keeeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend and it started off poorly!

We went to check in and they had no records of our booking! We booked through hotels.com and had to start providing evidence that we booked it!

After about 20 minutes they finally found our records but told us our room wasn't ready yet as a room would have to be made up. I understood on the website it had a check in of 3 but after they had mucked us around I expected them to make us a room up.

We gave them our number so they could let us know when it would be ready but they didn't so we just walked back at 3 and they said it was fine! Thanks for letting us know....

Considering we arrived at the hotel at about 10 in the morning we just wanted to get settled before going out.

The hotel itself is nice but the rooms are a bit dated and there was a weird smell in our room.

The hotel is in a good area so you are near to a lot of fun places!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#124 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,937 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,718 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Property: NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing