We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace) (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER FREE-DOM
Ranked #134 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Long weekend in amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Im just back from a 4 day trip to amsterdam with my wife and we decided to stay at the barbizon palace, and i cant praise the place enough. When arriving at central station we could look across the skyline and see the name on the top of the hotel minutes away.

The staff were really friendly, offering the option of a room with a view or a quieter internal facing room. We took the view and it was looking over the beautifully built central station and couldnt complain about the noise, as 3 floors up we would occasionally hear people if they were shouting (as would be expected in any busy city).

The location was great, less than a five minute walk to central station for connections across europe, five minutes to Dam Square and the Palace, and less than five and you'll be right in the middle of the red light district, and any number of coffee shops, cafes and restaurants.

Breakfast was all you can eat, with hot an cold foods, cereals and fruits and a spread that filled my belly every morning and they even offered a detox liquid health drink called PowerJuice that i will miss.

Rooms were large with kettle and iron, safe, mini bar over 30 channels on the tv, at least 8 english speaking so i was entertained when not out and about, the rooms were dated but it kept with the theme of the city itself and room service came everyday and even on the days were we had a do not disturb sign up we would get a call in the afternoon to ask if we needed anything, which i though was proper vip treatment.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are noisier on the lower floors but the higher floors have little or no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenjdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    937
    502
    200
    119
See reviews for
261
1,030
142
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I was in Amsterdam for my honeymoon for 4 days. After a 25 days long trip I was ending my trip in Amsterdam. Having read the reviews for this property on trip adviser I was really scared.
So the hotel is 5 mins walking from Amsterdam Central metro station. The station itself is 15-20 minutes from the airport via intercity metro which runs every 10-15 minutes.
When I entered I was greeted by an absolutely wonderful and friendly staff. They gave us champagne and congratulated us for our honeymoon. The concierge in particular is an old sweet man. Our room was 449 on the 4th floor facing the left side canal. The room was really big and spacious. The bathroom was clean and had a nice bath tub. The breakfast was elaborate and tasty.
A few comments on what people have written about the property:
1. The property is definitely a 5 star with sauna, swimming pool, Nice restaurants and big spacious rooms. The entire issue is that the property is old. The carpet, lifts, rooms look a decade old. As long as cleanliness is concerned I found no issues.
2. I did not face any issues as long as noise is concerned. But this might have to do with March not being a peak season. But given the location of the property it is not really there fault that it is noisy. Red light area is 5 mins walking, the hotel is surrounded by nice bars and restaurants. So being in the middle of the party town you cannot do away with the noise.
3. The beds as such are comfortable. I did not find any issues like stains or bed moths. But yes I agree the springs are broken and you can feel them at several areas.
4. The property is great value for money if you get a good deal like I got. They give you free wi-fi in the room, serve water and tea at the hotel lobby through out the day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anish1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 days here at a seminar and was delighted with the staff who are some of the best, nothing is too much trouble. The food is great and the location is really handy for the trains and trams. Safe and clean. Free WiFi is handy as well.

The place has history as well in St Olaf chapel, quite impressive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I am here until tomorrow for a conference. The location is great, but there are some annoying drawbacks. They do not provide milk capsules for tea and coffee, so you have to use powdered creamer or drink it black (a bit like cheap motels in the US). I am in a room that faces other rooms, no exterior view so I have to keep the drapes closed, which would be OK but they only have low lighting so the room is dark all the time. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet is very good, but because you have to do your own tea and coffee there was a line of people waiting which mad it difficult for people getting their food.I would come here again if I got a really good price, but it really does not offer more than a Novotel except it looks a bit more impressive. The staff are very friendly and helpful, even if they cannot find any milk....

Room Tip: Avoid interior facing rooms, they are unspeakably dark. Bring your own milk if you like your tea of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCankett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel is just 3 minutes walk from the Central Station in Amsterdam - making it excellent for excursions or city tours. Pedestrian street starts outside the hotel and for those who will go to the Red Light district - 3 minutes away. The hotel offers a very good standard with good beds / coffee maker and free internet in the room.
Can definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwayBernt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you recently. Hereby I would like to thank you for your nice review and for recommend NH barbizon Palace.

We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest!

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner in March 2014. This was advertised as a 5* and it is not a 5* but it is a great hotel, maybe a good 3*. You cannot beat the location, 2 min walk from the station, bars and restaurants 5 mins around the corner and a 10 min walk to the red light district - can't fault it for that. Our room was 415 - good size, bit dated but very clean. Bed was very soft for comfortable. Tea/Coffee was very poor - take your own tea bags! Bathroom was okay but if your tall then the shower is a problem, ceiling low but we managed. Towels are usual hotel standard - defo not 5*. Hairdryer in the bathroom and very clean. All staff were very friendly and you could leave your luggage which is great. All round decent hotel but not luxury.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and compliment about all the staff in NH Barbizon Palace. I am glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and I am looking forward to welcome you again in NH Barbizon Palace.

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After reading some of the reviews here I was a bit concerned as to what to expect. It was great! Right by the station, good room with a very comfortable bed and the breakfast was second to none.
Our room safe didn't work so the staff let use use a large safety deposit box for our whole stay. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astrid H, General Manager at NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review and compliments about the hotel and my staff. I am glad to read that you had a great stay in NH Barbizon Palace and in Amsterdam.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in NH Barbizon Palace!

Kind regards,

Astrid Hoogstede
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#124 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,937 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,717 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace

Property: NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Barbizon Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace is conveniently located in the heart of old Amsterdam and easily accessible to famous attractions, both on foot or via public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Barbizon Palace Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing