We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jewish Historical Museum

Jewish Historical Museum
Book In Advance
$16.40*
and up
Jewish Cultural Quarter Self-Guided Tour
Ranked #48 of 466 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jewish Historical Museum is a modern museum of Jewish heritage housed in four monumental synagogues near Waterlooplein in the heart of Amsterdam. Three permanent exhibitions present the history and culture of the Jewish people in the Netherlands. In addition to the three permanent exhibitions, the museum always offers two great temporary exhibitions and the fun JHM Children's museum.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Built within 3 synagogues so architecturally I found it interesting. The ticket is valid in the Portuguese Synagogue (a 5 minutes walk) which I found fascinating.

Very inspiring exhibition on Schonberg (the composer), nice coffee shop and cakes.

Good exhibition of the life of Dutch Jews before 2nd world war. In particular appealed to me a series of professional photographs of Jewish rich families (who could afford a professional photo shoot) which I found incredibly interesting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTraveller848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    234
    93
    27
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Level Contributor
304 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A rather uninspiring museum though the kids museum is intereting and fun.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

The jewish museum was uninspiring and its seems as if the purpuse was to explain what is the mening and practices of being a jewish more than the historical unfolding of the jewish community in Amsterdam and the Netherlands. The rooms devoted to kids were original and interesting and we enjoyed our stay with our 4 years old son.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank couple59060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An absolute must for Jewish families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

After what had become a tour of "look this is where a bunch of Jews died" historical spots all over Europe, it was so refreshing to come to a museum which helped my kids understand that Jews *live*. The Kids' Museum at JHM is second-to-none. My kids prepared challah in the kosher kitchen with a lovely guide and really loved Max the Matzoh, who "led" them around, played in the music room, and worked on Hebrew.

The museum-in-the-shuls is a great concept and the exhibitions for adults are well-curated and interesting.

Portions in the cafe are small but delicious, so plan on just having a snack here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank greengreenbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A lesson in assimilation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Portuguese synagogue opens at 10.30am so visit using the combined ticket and you will be ready to visit the Jewish museum when it opens at 11.0am. Bothe are wonderful examples of how the Dutch assimilated the Jewish immigrants both from Spain (Sephardic) and Poland. There is also a good bookshop and excellent small restaurant in the basement.
.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank robinbwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great history lesson, beautiful exhibits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went to the Jewish Museum at Christmas time. There was so much to be learned, they had a lot of information on the older original temples, they had a lot of information on the first Jewish families in Amsterdam. The exhibits were beautiful and moving. The exhibit with the current (post WWII) life of the Jews in the Amsterdam was wonderful. I was very impressed. If you are packed on time, I do not know if I would make this a must see, but if everything else is busy, I'd recognize it! :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Historical Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Jewish Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing