We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Grand time on the Canal...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #12 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“A Grand time on the Canal...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

A truly beautiful and histoic building...a magnificent structure built in the 1500's but updated with the latest modern designs inside. A great mix.

Very nice service from housekeeping and in the restaurant. The concierge staff was also top notch. We had a couple problems with front desk not understanding our needs due to language, but otherwise they tried very hard to assure top level service.

The location was also wonderful since it allowed us to be a little off of the main streets but within a few short blocks of Dam Square and was able to walk to the Rijksmuseum (20 minutes tops) access to a number of the main attractions.

Each morning we awoke to a view of the canal with a dozen or so swans swimming and the hooves of horses with carriages on the small road across the canal.

We had a junior suite - it was spacious and had nice decor. Loved the bathrooms! And the turn down service with chololates on each of the nightstands.

Only downside was they did not have the room down free (they understand the word feathers more than the word down) - so we had to order that again and wait, and the TV was not working and the phone had issues. The service people were all very nice though. Just a small pain to not be able to really relax till all the service folks came and went.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigi35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Dear Guest, Please allow us to thank you for your stay, and mostly, for reporting your observations. We apologize for the technical issues that occurred during your stay however we appreciate it that you are sharing your positive comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    359
    105
    48
    29
See reviews for
352
1,105
95
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

the location the staff and the whole experince was simply amazing . every hotel in the world should base there customer experince on this one.are personel butler louis was a true gent.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gazza2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Dear Guest, For your stay we thank you, but, most of all, for reporting your observations. We can assure you that we have shared your positive comments with our entire team. We look very much forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel legend The Grand. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

I've stayed here more than once, and each time the staff is amazing. They've helped to organize and arrange dinners, private boat tours, orchestra tickets, car services, bicycle rentals, and most recently the delivery of an important package. The rooms are lovely, the nicest I've found in Amsterdam, and the free in-room internet is very fast. The Sofitel brand continues to maintain an exceptional standard, and I've never been disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your encouraging review about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. Especially as you are one of our loyal guests we very much appreciate your kind words about our hotel, and the Sofitel brand. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Hotel

The Sofitel The Grand is a really amazing hotel. It is not an 'ordinary' Sofitel hotel, it is a so called Sofitel Legend hotel, which just a few Sofitel hotels get awarded with. The hotel was really nicely decorated over the X-mas session 2010. After a few discrepancies (expedia made an error concerning the room category), which were handled in a real professional way by the young receptionists, our butler Domingo showed us the way to our Imperial Suite. All in all, the check-in was fast, professional and moreover all A-Club Platinum benefits were given. They even went a step further than the published Platinum benefits (one room category upgrade) and did not walk us for the last days - many thanks to Mr. Hogetoorn for this pre-X-mas-present ;)

Rating: 9.5/10


Location

The location is exceptional - you are in the middle of Amsterdam when you step outside of the hotel. All main sightseeing attractions are close by. To compare it with their immediate competitor the IC Amstel, it is much more convenient and you really can feel the old charm of the city of Amsterdam when you stroll through the iconic canals just outside of the hotel.

Rating: 9.5/10


Service

The service is top-notch. First of all I really have to say a big thank you to Domingo. He was here for us whenever we needed something and w/o him we probably would have spent X-mas in Amsterdam due to the snow chaos. Compared to other properties, which offer butler service like the Burj al Arab, the Touessrok or the Townhouse Galleria, the butler service at the Sofitel The Grand was much more private and all in all much better than at the mentioned former properties.
Also the guys at the reception greeted me every morning by name (but next time please not so formal :p) and also did a great job, as I already have mentioned. Service compared to the IC Amstel was also much better. Clear win for The Grand again.

Rating: 10/10


Food

Breakfast is compared to other hotels maybe a bit pricy but definitely worth it. You get champagne as well as nearly everything you could dream of. As far as I remember, I just missed a natural yoghurt there on one day.
Room service is also efficient and tasty. We had dinner always outside at awesome restaurants due to the suggestions of Domingo.

Rating: 8.5/10


Room

I just say Imperial Suite. Well, the room was really cool. Big living room with working desk, 2 Nespresso machines, steam bath, awesome bed (I need such a bed at home too, so ship it over to me lol), 3 LCD TVs and so on and so on. The best thing is when you simply scroll through my pictures, then you will get the impression of this room ;)
Compared to the IC Amstel, where we had an Executive Suite, the Imperial Suite was definitely bigger - around 110sqm - but still lacked a few things.
I missed a bathroom scale and maybe some more amenities like a toothbrush. But I have to admit that you will get such things when you say it to your butler. Maybe a running map in pocket design could maybe also be provided in the room.
But everything else, from the fine towels to the Hermes toiletries, was just outstanding.

Rating: 9.5/10

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Guest, First of all, may we thank you for sharing your views with us. At Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand we consider your feedback as the most valuable tool to evaluate the high quality of service expected by our guests.
We were very pleased to learn of your comments, which are certainly very rewarding and encouraging. It was nice to read that you were satisfied with the suite, the location and our staff. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desenzano del garda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Very good Hotel, good position, good elegance, good services, good rooms, a really pleasure!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marckred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We hope to able to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I've stayed at the Sofitel "The Grand Amsterdam" hotel a number of times and found it to be outstanding. The city center location is excellent while also being quite and just a little bit removed from the hustle and bustle. I've found the staff to be initially reserved but warm up quickly if you actual converse with them.

NOTE: My stays were a few years ago so the Feb 2010 date was the earliest date in the review menu,

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback. We were pleasantly surprised that you as one of our loyal guests took the time to post your comments about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Although we had booked months previous to our arrival, we arrived to discover our children (13 & 15) had been put in a room on a completely different floor to us. The girl who assisted us at reception was very cold and almost rude. It was Christmas and although we could see that people were enjoying Christmas treats in the bar, we not asked to partake; nor were we given any introduction to the hotel facilities. This cold treatment continued for our entire stay (5 nights). The concierge made us feel that any question or required assistance was an imposition - it was really unbelievable. Probably felt even more as we had just previously been in a hotel in Prague (The Augustine) which was not only superior in every way, but where the staff were so warm and friendly we felt sad to leave!! Anyway - our rooms, although attractive, were tiny with far too much furniture/lamps etc which we were forever bumping into! The bathrooms were tiny, so we continually tripped over each other. The beds were too too soft, even by European standards. The breakfasts (not included) were exorbitant - infact the only saving grace was that the rooms contained an espresso machine, so we could have our morning coffee then eat elsewhere!! We have previously stayed at the Pulitzer, which is old but charming - I would definitely not stay at The Grand Amsterdam again, I could have forgiven all of the room faults if the services at the front desk had been friendlier..... but there is no excuse for cold staff

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katstrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your comments.
We are very disappointed that we did not live up to our five star promise.
You can be assured that your comments will be taken into action, and we hope that you will have an opportunity to visit The Grand again in the future, in order for us to prove ourselves to be a better host. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing