We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
desenzano del garda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Very good Hotel, good position, good elegance, good services, good rooms, a really pleasure!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marckred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We hope to able to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    342
    101
    46
    27
See reviews for
333
1,057
90
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
silicon valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I've stayed at the Sofitel "The Grand Amsterdam" hotel a number of times and found it to be outstanding. The city center location is excellent while also being quite and just a little bit removed from the hustle and bustle. I've found the staff to be initially reserved but warm up quickly if you actual converse with them.

NOTE: My stays were a few years ago so the Feb 2010 date was the earliest date in the review menu,

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback. We were pleasantly surprised that you as one of our loyal guests took the time to post your comments about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Although we had booked months previous to our arrival, we arrived to discover our children (13 & 15) had been put in a room on a completely different floor to us. The girl who assisted us at reception was very cold and almost rude. It was Christmas and although we could see that people were enjoying Christmas treats in the bar, we not asked to partake; nor were we given any introduction to the hotel facilities. This cold treatment continued for our entire stay (5 nights). The concierge made us feel that any question or required assistance was an imposition - it was really unbelievable. Probably felt even more as we had just previously been in a hotel in Prague (The Augustine) which was not only superior in every way, but where the staff were so warm and friendly we felt sad to leave!! Anyway - our rooms, although attractive, were tiny with far too much furniture/lamps etc which we were forever bumping into! The bathrooms were tiny, so we continually tripped over each other. The beds were too too soft, even by European standards. The breakfasts (not included) were exorbitant - infact the only saving grace was that the rooms contained an espresso machine, so we could have our morning coffee then eat elsewhere!! We have previously stayed at the Pulitzer, which is old but charming - I would definitely not stay at The Grand Amsterdam again, I could have forgiven all of the room faults if the services at the front desk had been friendlier..... but there is no excuse for cold staff

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katstrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your comments.
We are very disappointed that we did not live up to our five star promise.
You can be assured that your comments will be taken into action, and we hope that you will have an opportunity to visit The Grand again in the future, in order for us to prove ourselves to be a better host. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Truly a grand historical building right in the centre of the city, modern interiors decorated in a "boutique" style, facilities very nice (rare indoor pool, with a very small gym and spa), and great restaurant. Staff were generally very efficient and proper/polite, but not overly warm. I would stay there again if I visit the city though, overall enjoyed our 3 day city vacation visit at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank askmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for your feedback but most of all for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We were very happy to read that you liked the restaurant 'Bridges' and the other facilities. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Quite expensive hotel but extremely good location and quality of service. I highly recommend if money is not o problem :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariusMihaiRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

This hotel was really a disappointment. It is supposed to be one of the nicer hotels in Amsterdam. The location is good, and everything seemed fresh and new inside. However, the whole experience was one disappointment after another. When I checked in, they could not find my reservation, even though I had the paperwork to go with it (reserved through American Express travel). Finally they said they found it and gave me a reservation printout with someone else's name and address - I pointed out that it wasn't mine, and they insisted it was and crossed that person's name off and wrote mine in. I hope that person didn't have a problem getting their room.

My room wasn't ready (not surprising since it was actually someone else's room) so they agreed to store my luggage. Beware that their luggage storage appears to be just leaving all of the luggage in the main reception. I sat in the reception for about an hour before leaving for a meeting, and my suitcase remained with the piles of others out in the open the whole time.

The room was absolutely tiny. I was traveling on business and supposedly had a superior room. There was just enough space on either side of the bed for a useless bedside table (not actually large enough for placing anything there), and that was it. The bed was a double size bed, not a queen or king. In other words, the bed is only a bit bigger than a single size bed and certainly far too small for two people. There was barely enough room between the end of the bed and the desk to squeeze through. The bathroom was a good size, with a nice walk in shower, but no bath tub.

There was no wireless internet service. Instead you had to buy (at a hefty charge) a little scratch off card from the front desk for a local wireless service, but after many attempts I still could not get this to work because the wireless signal did not reach the room. They sent someone to the room but he could not get it to work either. It is absolutely unacceptable for a hotel that pretends to be 5 star not to have internet access. Actually, hotels of any star should offer internet access and most do. I don't really understand what is going on at the Sofitel but I don't intend to return to find out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poogleypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing