We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER WANTED TO LEAVE THE HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #14 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 2, 2014

My week-long stay here was great from start to finish. The hotel is quiet and old-fashioned on the outside, but has every modern convenience, is beautifully furnished, and is centrally located. I really appreciated the opportunity to swim in the pool and use the spa, especially after a hard day of sight-seeing. Finally, the concierge service was amazing. This was our first trip to Amsterdam and they really helped us out with recommendations, directions, travel arrangements, etc. Overall, this was probably the best hotel that I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lawyersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

We feel flattered because of your very kind words that our hotel was probably the best you have every stayed in! We are thrilled to learn that you were very happy with our award-winning So Spa after a busy day of sight-seeing. Our Concierge is specialized in booking the best restaurants and other places in Amsterdam and they know the city by heart. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and hopefully we can welcome you again in The Grand in the near future.

Warm regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 2,694 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel for 3 nights- 2 before a trip to Africa and 1 on the return. One would be hard pressed to find a hotel with a nicer, more accomodating staff than that of the Sofitel. First, they were willing to store our extra luggage for almost 2 weeks while we went on safari. Second, we had a mistake in our booking, and the management was very understanding in helping us correct the problem. When I contacted the hotel about a car from the airport, they were prompt in responding, and every time we needed a cab, they had one waiting for us. The reception staff makes you feel so welcome. The front desk, bell staff and concierge were all stellar. On our return we were upgraded to an amazing suite, and someone picked up that it was my son-in-law's birthday, so they sent a cake to our room. By European standards, our rooms were very spacious. There is a lovely outside dining area for breakfast which I highly recommend on a nice day. The only down side to the hotel is that it can be noisy, as the rooms face the street and/or canals. At 3:00AM there was still quite a bit of noise from local bars and coffee shops. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travlinmom1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to learn that you felt welcome in the hotel and especially that you were happy with the service that was provided during your stay. We are happy to contribute to the birthday of your son in law and really appreciate your kind words about our staff and the service that was delivered. If the weather allows it, the breakfast is always served outside in our beautiful secluded garden. We certainly hope to welcoming you again in The Grand!

Warm regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

My wife stayed for 4 nights along with 3 other couples. The service was incredible and the location was ideal. Close to the tram station and central station. We were greeted graciously with our room facing the canal. What can I say...thank you for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Wow! Your comments are praise indeed. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to sharing your kind words with the team.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Only stayed the 1 night but was a very enjoyable evening. I love where this is situated near enough all the things you may wanna do in Amsterdam. The staff are great but we didn't really get the chance to fully test them as it was only for one night. The food is great here and the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a long time. The rooms are a fair size if a little worn, not the biggest but nice.
Great hotel would recommend but won't say it's the best hotel I stayed in in Amsterdam but it comes close.

Room Tip: Noise level was average but that's only because there was a wedding going on so understandable b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ramondeep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

We are happy to hear that you spent an enjoyable evening at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam and that you thought the staff and the food were great !

And thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Grand. We certainly hope to see you again.

Kindest regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed at the Grand for three days before going on a safari in Africa. Parts of the building is centuries old with old world elegance. Of course, all of the modern amenities one would desire is available. The room we had was somewhat small, but was fine for the short period of time we were there. Our friends also stayed here at the same time and they had a huge suite, so other options for accommodations are available. We found the location to be perfect, within walking distance of the museums, canals, outdoor markets and the infamous Red Light District. There are many restaurants near by, and the restaurant at the hotel was very good. They offer a breakfast buffet that includes a huge variety to choose from. We would defintly stay here again and would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Thank you so much for the nice notes about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed everything during your stay in Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grand in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few days. The location is incredible--just close enough to the downtown core, but far enough to enjoy the classic, quiet ambiance.
The hotel was superb, service outstanding and overall experience was top notch.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and the rooms were massive (by European standards)
OUTSTANDING!

Room Tip: We loved our canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thank you for your Five Star review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, that we exceeded your expectations overall and that you thought the service was outstanding.

I look forward to sharing your wonderful feedback with the staff. Thank you also for recommending our hotel to other travellers.

We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand soon.

Kindest regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, well located the room has a view to the water canal , They offer a Nespresso machine inside the room and with a variety of flavors. And the breakfast was great, a lot of options. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room had a view for the water canal, you can watch the ducks and swans swimming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Diogo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your recent stay at The Grand.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and the amenities. I will definitely pass on your kind comment about the staff to all of them.

I hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

Kindest regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,383 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 374 in Amsterdam
844 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,656 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $324 - $965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing