We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not our first choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel as part of our Tauck river cruise as it is their "official" hotel in Amsterdam at present. If you arrive earlier than the 3:00 check in or leave later than the 12:00 check out they will safely secure all of your bags for you.

It is in a good location for walking all around central Amsterdam however, it is not situated well for anyone arriving by coach as we had to walk more than five minutes from the closest point at which the bus can drop you off. Taxi's have no problem.

We found the front desk staff to be as professional as you would expect but did not eat in the restaurants because the food was a little too fancy for our tastes. We did have a very good buffet breakfast in a private room as part of our package with Tauck.

This is an expensive hotel and is comparable in price to the De L' Europe which we stayed in last year. This is a beautiful old building which has been modernized to the point where a lot of the charm has been removed. Rooms are decorated in a modern, contemporary fashion which is really not our taste. Having said that, our room was spacious by European standards.

There were a number of idiosyncrasies to the room which made it rather inconvenient to actually utilize. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom but no plug that would fit it (was only one outlet in the bathroom and it was not near the mirror) so I ended up using the outlet close to the floor near the front door. The mirror in the bathroom could be rolled about a foot in either direction but it never worked in conjunction with the light source so applying makeup there was next to impossible. There was a lighted magnifying mirror which is helpful for some things but useless for others.

There was no fan in the bathroom and the doors don't actually meet so privacy could be an issue. As well, we could not figure out a way to leave some of the lights on and turn some off. It was basically all or nothing except for the two spotlight reading lights on either side of the bed.

The bed linens were gorgeous and the bed and pillows so comfortable that I didn't want to get up. Surprisingly, the bathroom linens were quite the opposite. The towels were ratty and hard and one even had two large holes in it!

This may sound petty but when they are charging over $600.00 per night for a room and claiming five star accommodation we expect a lot more. As I mentioned earlier, the De L'Europe is comparable in price, two blocks away in, what we believe is, a better location and really was five star in everything. Given the choice, we would pay a little more and stay down the street.

Room Tip: Room 120 overlooked a quiet canal but was very close to the street so make sure you specify a quiet...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,611)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stay twice in the hotel it was wonderful. Comfortable, clean and wonderful rooms. Hotel Decor is so nice, really luxury hotel. Recommend Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Planing to go there very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamaraS0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you very much for trusting the Sofitel Legend The Grand. We are grateful to you for not only observing our beautiful hotel and good service, but taking the time to put it in writing.
Thank you also for you recommendation.

We are looking forward to have you here once again.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Grand is so tucked in on one of the very old streets along the canal that you wouldn't know it is there... and our driver couldn't find it with GPS. It is nice and clean, has nice amenities and the location is perfect for heading out on foot to see the old part of the city. I would caution you that the fine dining isn't for everyone--not even those who are accustomed to fine dining--as the menu is very limited. We would have preferred to dine at The Bistro but we hadn't reserved and it was booked. By default, we were seated at the fine dining but didn't stay once we saw the menu. My only other note of caution: we asked for a wake up call at 6:45 am--which never occurred & was very disconcerting. I have to assume that is highly irregular, but be advised.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for this commentary from your most recent stay with us at the Sofitel Legend The Grand.

The hotel is indeed ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller, with many of Amsterdam’s top tourist sights within short distance.

Whilst I am pleased that you liked our hotel, I am greatly concerned about the missed wake-up call. Even though this is highly irregluar, it is still something we will look into. We sincerely apologize for any inconcience caused.

We welcome all feedback as an opportunity to improve our quality of service and standards.
Hoping that you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust in us.

Sincerely,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We recently stayed a week at the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It was a wonderful experience. While we were there, we celebrated our anniversary. They helped make it even more special. There wasn't anything that we would change. The rooms, bedding, and food were exceptional. The thing that stood out the most was the staff. Everyone we met was warm and welcoming. They couldn't do enough for us, whether it was providing information, reservations, or arranging transportation. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

We are truly honoured that you chose the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to celebrate your anniversary and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for recognizing our team, rest assured I will share your comments to all.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

perfect service, very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing food. Rooms are spluuurrrrge. I had 2 kids with me: a 4 year old and 9 month old and they were very accommodating for my kids. They even gave my son a complimentary treat. great concierge service too and very centrally located-very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Wow, what a wonderful review of your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand ! Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and the service.

Please rest assured that I will pass on your compliments to the entire staff.

We hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand !

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I would definitely recommend this amazing 5-star hotel in the very center of Amsterdam to anyone. It is absolutely one of the best 5-stars I have visited. Excellent service, Micheline- star food even for breakfast, very comfortable beds and great canal-views! What more could a traveler ask for. I loved the place and the room, we had lovely time sightseeing – everything is a walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are beautiful and very clean, w-fi works fast and you don’t even have to go looking for where to spend the evening – if you feel like staying in, there is a great bar in the hotel with very good service and drinks)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with canal view, it's great)
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KatiaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I have been in Amsterdam in june 2014 for trip it should be 4 nights but i cut it to 2 nights only!

I choose Sofitel as i read it has good location and its really good location .
But also i choose it as the rooms picture i saw it online for the hotel but the reality way different from what you see online ... The room very very small and not worth what you bid for it as the 20 m 461€ for every night without breakfast ... And what u get less than 20 m as the interior design so stupid to but steer and make the room more smaller .. Also the carpet to old and thirty .. The bed not comfortable...


Really i will not recommend it to any one sorry for all staff and manager there because they were so kind with us but the hotel should be 4 star and way less in what you bid for the room as what i choose not worth than 100€

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank QATAR2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
746 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $337 - $913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing