We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$293
$241
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$305
$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$437
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$321
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$561
$331
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,859)
Filter reviews
2,859 results
Traveler rating
2,185
455
128
58
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,185
455
128
58
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtbutler serviceflying dutchmanhermes toiletriesluxury roomjunior suitedam squareturn down servicewonderful hotelstar hotelcanal viewthe heart of the citythe location is perfectnespresso machineanne frank housevan gogh museumcentral station
Filter
Updating list...
1,095 - 1,100 of 2,859 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. A wonderful place to enjoy and explore Amsterdam. The staff was very helpful during our stay. They arranged for a private tour guide to walk us throughout the city and explaining the rich history. It made the trip very memorable and informative. We enjoyed the museums and the city.
The location is perfect right by the main square and close to the Red Light district.
It also has one of the best restaurants in Amsterdam a Michelin rated location, Bridges! The meal was wonderful and service was great.

In closing I would encourage anyone to visit the city and stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room with view on the canal. Very peaceful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about your recent stay in The Grand.

I will share your comments with the rest of the team as I am sure that this kind of feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff; as we strive to provide a high quality of service to all our guests.

Thank you also for recommending our hotel !

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A real 5 star hotel . Great beds ,pillows,linen and decor ,everything works well .
But what makes hotel really stand out is its service . It has improved since two years ago ,it was very good then ,but now it goes beyond all expectations . Nothing is too much trouble , every member of staff from receptionists to chambermaids etc stop to greet you . Staff over breakfast are friendly cheery and attentive.
Great hotel in a super location .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

It was lovely to read your super review and thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand. I will definitely pass on your wonderful words about the service to our entire staff…it will make them feel real proud !

Please come back and see us again soon but, in the meantime, happy travels.

With all good wishes,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

So excited I stayed in this hotel! Just at the center of Amsterdam, near the canal with the swans with wonderful view. The room was cosy decorated with warm colors, lovely smiley staff and the best lounge room with a fireplace, books and piano, feeling wonderful & natural being there. Hot spots: a beautiful garden in the middle, a delicious breakfast and a must visit hotel spa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenaKatikou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Wow, what a fantastic review. It’s such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Grand and that you appreciated our breakfast buffet. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff !

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed 5 nights here, over the long Easter break. Service from the front desk, concierge, porters and restaurant staff was topnotch. The buffet breakfast was excellent. We had the most blissful sleep every night, in their extremely comfortable beds. If it could have been possible to just stay in the hotel the whole 6 days, I would have, because once you step out, you're confronted with everything xxx that Amsterdam has to offer. There's a 'coffeeshop' just steps away, and the red-lighted windows just a few meters down. Why couldn't this lovely property have been located in a more respectable part of town. Actually, even inside the hotel, you can catch whiffs of pot brought in by other guests, especially in the cramped elevators. Parents, take note.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about your stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I will share your comments with the rest of the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff, as we strive to provide a high quality of service to all of our guests.

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during a spring tour of Holland and Belgium with Tauck. The hotel is beautiful and service is excellent. The room was spacious and clean. The location is excellent and we could walk everywhere. The front desk staff had plenty of people there to help when you needed it and they were all very friendly. We ate in the Bistro restaurant once and we did not like it very much but loved the hotel breakfasts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and the location.

However, I am sorry to hear that you did not like our Bistro that much. I will pass on your comment to our Restaurant Manager.

I hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews