We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #14 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during a business event and the rooms were great.
Great position within the City , walkable to most areas. The breakfast was more of an experience and make sure you get it included in your room price and it's a little pricey. The service from the staff at breakfast was excellent and above and beyond. We had a sick member of our party and they prepared a selection of cakes and rolls for him to take to his room.
The whole building is beautiful and theres even a nice little bar hidden away which opens till late and serves a great beer with local cheeses. Would recommend if you after a little bit of luxury.

Room Tip: It's quite an old building so ask for a room away from the lifts and a higher floor to avoid noi...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siamcoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for this extremely positive feedback.

I will pass on your words of praise to the whole team. This will serve as an encouragement as we strive to provide high standards of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,614)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 2,614 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Amor E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Been meaning to write about the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam since New Years' Day! My husband and I spent his birthday and New Year 2014 at this beautiful and historic hotel. (It was Amsterdam's Town-Hall since the 1600s until the 90s. Former Dutch Queen Beatrix married here. (Folks can still marry here, if they wish!) Not only is this hotel tastefully decorated, has a great restaurant but is most central, set on a lovely canal. To the right, the Royal Palace,to the left 'Chinatown' and beyond that the Red Light District!!!!! In addition to all these assets, all the staff were very helpful and charming, Concierge Frits helped us tremendously with tickets for this and that, whilst charming manageress Zsa Zsa even showed me around this (to quote Lyd123flore) this classy, elegant, outstanding Hotel. (I could not stop taking photos!!!) Would definitely stay here again, and it's ideal for that special occasion!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Wow, you have made our day ! It is a pleasure to read such a positive review about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Indeed the hotel is located in a historical building. For those interested, there is a daily historical tour of the hotel, during which quite a few very interesting facts and anecdotes are told.

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand !

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel for a couple of nights for a conference held at the same.

Service was very good and attentive. Room standard was great and I had a very nice view of the surrounding and quaint environment.

I would gladly recommend this high end hotel, but probably most for business or couples travel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank QuitePickyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

I am truly glad to hear that you have had such an enjoyable stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam and I would sincerely like to thank you that you recommend our hotel.

I hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Grand Sofitel last week and 'Grand' it was ! We have previously stayed in various hotels in Amsterdam but this hotel is by far the best. We arrived on the Tuesday at 11am to check into our standard room and was informed that we had been selected to be 'guest of the day'. Our standard room was upgraded to a suite with our own private butler. Fantastic news and it just got better. The suite was so spacious and luxurious. Room service was very efficient and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The actual hotel is amazing and my husband enjoyed the spa facilities daily. It's in a great location for Central Amsterdam but is also very quiet and peaceful. We can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites are excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyd123flore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for posting such a positive feedback.

I thank you also for pointing out the attentive staff all over the hotel. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such high standards of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in The Grand.

Au revoir,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent a beautiful long weekend in this phantastic hotel. right in the heart of amsterdam, 50 m from the red light district

check in procedure was a bit long, however very friendly. Room was classic yet modern, had a bit of a challenge with the regulation of the aircondition, but no big deal. beautiful bathroom. the room was on two levels, could pose a hazzle to elder people. The noise isolation to the street was not very good. in combination with our temperature challenges & the proximity to the red light district and its happy returning guest was a bit challenging

breakfast was first class - as was dinner very cool and deserved the michelin star. cost was reasonable considering the creativity.

really amazing concierge service. customized insider tipps - on short notice. As i understand dutch i heard how he pushed for the table / entry to the bar afterwards. understood us and how we ticked. possibly best concierge service i ever had

The gym/pool area has been nicely explained by the staff - including the dresscode (Sauna with clothes please, we have asian guests... did not want to frustrate them :) ) Gym is a bit small, but fine for a citytrip. pool sauna fine however no comfy beds to rest.

Over the days on many occasions we were greeted be name.

A nice little detail which i have never experienced before was the little picknick bag the valet parking left for our way back - almost made us forget the 50€ per night parking fee - Amsterdam...)

the power of good service made us completely forget the little challenges. very recommendable

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

What a warm and wonderful feedback! Thank you for that!

We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests. I am glad to hear that you were touched by our little surprise upon leaving the hotel.

I also thank you for pointing out your "excellent" experience with our concierge service. I will definitely pass on your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back in The Grand.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I enjoyed the hospitality of the Sofitel Legend The Grand staff while visiting it for a Sunday business seminar in one of its rooms. Had my car parked, had a stroll through the city (they are right in the heart of Amsterdam!), enjoyed a fresh breakfast and enjoyed their drive to serve each and every guest during the seminar. A great place to be. Eye of the (city) hurricane.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Indeed one of our numerous assets is that we are centrally located in Amsterdam. This is very convenient for both business and leisure purposes.

I thank you for your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,324 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $342 - $940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing