We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Di Da”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I felt like a celebrity! Many beautiful touches made this a great place to stay. We had a top floor room, courtyard view. We slept with the window open and couldn't hear a thing, which was wonderful. A very lovely lobby with a sitting room was a great place to sip tea and relax after sight seeing. The front desk took terrific care of us, especially when I made a mistake with my flight departure time. I would love to return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowydog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

First of all I would like to kindly thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read that we have been able to help you with your flight. It is through the smallest details that we try to give each guest a memorable experience.

We hope to welcome you back in The Grand on your next travels to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 2,744 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day visit to Amsterdam and believed we had stayed in some of the best hotels in the world; this is until we stayed at the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. From the moment we arrived everything was pure perfection. The service from the friendly, yet professional staff was exemplary, the room spectacular and the facilities superb. All that you could wish for or need had been thought about and provided.

Our trip coincided with celebrations for our Wedding Anniversary and we were very fortunate to be upgraded to a canal view apartment suite complete with complementary champagne. The apartment was spacious and elegant, yet warm and cosy. In fact, it was hard to leave even to explore the delights of the city. We dined in the Michelin starred ‘Bridges’ restaurant and the dining experience matched the same high level as everything else. Delicious food and top notch service from expertly trained, knowledgeable staff. The pool and spa were a welcome and relaxing retreat after a day exploring the delights of Amsterdam.

We would like to personally thank D Dupart, General Manager, and his team for making our stay so special and memorable. We are planning our next visit to The Sofitel Legend The Grand and we cannot wait to return.

Kate and Joseph W, London

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your generous comments on Tripadvisor and share the enjoyable stay you have had at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I will share your positive comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff, as we strive to provide a high quality of service to all of our guests.

Thank you once again for your kind words. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Grand in the near future.

With kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Sofitel Legend is not only a beautiful property,but the most well-run Hotel I have ever stayed in. The entire hotel staff from the Receptionists to the room attendants were helpful and friendly. Everyone was so enthusiastic you couldn't help but feel welcome. The breakfasts were fantastic The facility itself was immaculate and well appointed. A 1st class 5 star hotel in every aspect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful comment on TripAdvisor!

You words are a great pleasure to read as we take pride in striving for a warm adn sincere service in order to make our guests feel welcome. The breakfast team and I are happy to learn that you have enjoyed the breakfast provided by our restaurant 'Bridges, Inspired by Ron Blaauw'.

Again, I would like to thank you for your kind words and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel the next to your travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
Generla Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the Sofitel Legend for four nights in a luxury room overlooking the canal. Beautifully appointed room with a good bathroom. Level of service from all staff was excellent. Enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the restaurant and drinks in the library by the fireplace. So cosy after a day walking around Amsterdam exploring the city. Would recommend a visit to Nes Street just across the canal for some very good restaurants. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Pierre4823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay in The Grand. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your room, the breakfast in our restaurant Bridges and drinks in our Library ‘Or’. We indeed do our utmost to offer a pleasant and comfortable place where guests can relax after a walk in the town or a visit to a museum.

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand on your next trip to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
Generla Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for family wedding recently. The wedding chamber itself is an historical and architectural gem from the Deco era when the hotel was the Amsterdam Town Hall and for a small intimate wedding could not be bettered.
Bedrooms all very nice indeed and probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. Outstanding breakfast choices and buffet - again one of the very best ever.
Service was generally outstanding (other than being told by the receptionist that we hadn't got a booking on arrival - she was suitably embarrassed and apologetic subsequently - which may be why my parents suitcase ended up in the baggage room rather than their bedroom).
Food is outstanding, but quite fussy so not ideal for older parents. Likewise, the food options other than the restaurant also not really suited to elderly parents (low seating or high bar stools. Perhaps churlish of me to think that to be truly great a hotel should be able to cater equally well to the complete age range?
It was a great location and setting for the wedding which was brilliantly well done. My own taste in hotels is more small scale and personal but for a large and special hotel this is probably as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

First of all I would like to thank you kindly for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor, it was a pleasure reading it.

I am pleased to read that the historical ambiance the hotel has contributed to your stay and the most importantly the wedding.
Your feedback about our menus is taken seriously and will be shared with our Food and Beverage Manager. In addition, I would like to inform you that the seating areas in the hotel are currently being revised and we are planning to have some more seating options available in the near future, so that is something we are working on as well.

In the meantime I would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the honor to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Sofitel Amsterdam is Grand in everything but the bedroom! That doesn’t harm the business stay in this otherwise beautiful and great hotel. I would encourage traveler to book a bigger room if sharing. Service is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciano p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor, and for your kinds words about the hotel and the service that was provided.
It is indeed correct that we offer different room types. Please feel free to contact us in person in case you would prefer some recommendations when travelling with two persons. For example, we also offer spacious Luxury Rooms that also feature a bathtub overlooking the Amsterdam Canal.

Again I would like to thank you for your kind feedback and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back Amsterdam soon.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times, beautiful hotel. Room was very nice, luxurious and lovely comfortable bed . Nespresso machine was great . If you want posh then this it, couldn't fault it in anyway. The Jackson 4 were there doing an art opening in the hotel we stumbled into the foyer to be met with a group of paparazzi not the best when you've had one too many.
On the edge of Red Light district and very central to get around , 5 minute walk to Dam Square.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cafesource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving your most valued feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The Sofitel My|Bed and the Nespresso machine are the key elements of our rooms, and I am happy to learn that this has contributed to your experience. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,426 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,216 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $321 - $893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing