We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb luxury in a superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb luxury in a superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel in an executive room overlooking the canal and quaint canal street houses typical of Amsterdam. The room was small but luxurious - as was the bathroom. The overall ambience of the hotel was warm, welcoming and calm and felt like an oasis of peace and quiet amongst the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. Dam Square is a 2 minute walk away and the alluring sites of the red district 5 minutes away, but can be avoided if easily shocked !
Try this hotel, but don't expect an upgrade unless you are willing to pay a price way beyond our pockets !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRRHyvots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. The city centre of Amsterdam indeed tents to be quite busy and noisy; we are therefore happy to offer you a quiet and tranquil place where you can relax and enjoy your stay in the town.
We hope to welcome you back in Amsterdam ánd The Grand.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,677
    359
    104
    48
    29
See reviews for
352
1,103
95
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great location in central Amsterdam, walking distance to many tourist areas. Very comfortable hotel, very attentive and professional staff. Never had a bad stay here. Hotel rest. Bridges is a great place, excellent wines and foot. Definitely worth a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for leaving these wonderful words on Tripadvisor about your recent visit with us.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel, our restaurant and our service. In addition I am happy to read that our central location has helped you to find your way throughout the city.
Thank you again for your compliments and I hope that we may welcome you back in The Grand.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've traveled quite a lot and I've been to many great hotels in Europe but there is nothing really like this one. Everything was immaculate! attention to details at the highest level. I proposed to my girlfriend there and it was really quite something. The hotel itself is extraordinary. Everything is clean and our room was outstanding. The location couldn't be more perfect. The bed is the best bed I've ever slept in but what makes this hotel perfect is the staff. Let me begin with the concierge, they planned everything for me and it was absolutely amazing. They arranged a saloon boat for a 3 course dinner, bought me some flowers and booked me everything I needed. They are the best concierge team I've ever dealt with. Secondly, the reception staff were helpful, quick check in and check out, they even upgraded my junior suite to another suite because they knew I was proposing. Our butler (yes butlers come with every suite you book) Carlos is really phenomenal, ask him anything and he will do it for you. he made our stay one to remember, he was just simply faultless.
My recommendation is: get a suite (you won't regret it), ask the concierge for anything(and tip them), try the lobster bisque and enjoy sleeping in the world's most comfortable bed.

One more thing is I didn't really quite enjoy my dinner at the Bridges restaurant , mainly because the service was quite poor compared to the Ciel bleu which was more than perfect and much better to be honest. The food was brilliant thou. If you have the budget for both then try both out but if you have to choose definitely the Ciel bleu wins.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.
It is with great pride that I read your kind words about our team, as we all get a lot of satisfaction from guests who show their appreciation. I have therefore shared your review with the entire team.
Through the smallest details we try to give each guest a memorable experience.
We hope to welcome you and your fiancée back in The Grand in the near future, as well as in our restaurant Bridges, Inspired by Ron Blaauw, so that we can prove ourselves a better host.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Not a bad place, but lacking in wow factor. I enjoyed the food and the room was comfortable but it could have been anywhere in the world, I wasn't expecting a big chain hotel type of atmosphere where you could be anywhere on the planet, but that's what I got. Good staff, comfortable rooms, tastey food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judeedee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I would like to thank you for leaving a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read your positive comments about our staff, the rooms and the food. However, I was sorry to learn that we could not succeed in exceeding your expectations regarding the atmosphere in the hotel. It is our aim to make each and everyone of our guests feel special.
That is why we do hope you will consider staying with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in The Grand.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place should belong to a fairy tail book/story! If you want to be treated as royalty with first class experience, do yourself a favour and stay here. Easy and fast check-in/out even though it was NYE and a chaos. There was a minor hiccup upon check-in but it was handled with grace and professionalism. They took care of all the NYE planning (dinner and party)
The room was huge and had making views. Bathrooms was luxurious, along with amazing Hermes toiletries and rain shower. Everything you could wish for. Take the complimentary hotel tour, which was once a monastery/convent. So much history and character. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ-SF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor about your visit in our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, the room, the service provided and that you liked our historical tour.
It is our passion to provide all our guests with a memorable experience and I hope, together with the entire team of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great room and awesome location and helpful staff ! Let down buy the greed of the hotel wasn't the cheapest to stay there and needed an extra night but was more expensive for the extra night than the whole weekend , personally thought they were taking advantage of my situation and ruined my stay there ! The rooms were nice and clean and up until then the staff were perfect !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed the central location of the hotel and that our staff has been accommodating during your stay.
However, I am sorry to learn that the end of your stay has been disappointing. It is correct that our prices can vary per day depending on availability.
I do hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing