We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great location in the very centre of Amsterdam.The lobby and public areas are very impressive and the staff were attentive.Our room was small,bed comfortable,the bathroom was of a space saving design.Dinner in Bridges was good however when we decided not to have dessert we were promptly handed the bill.....we were actually still enjoying the remainder of our wine! I would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again but NOT at full rate...and eat out!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dec o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,656
    348
    103
    48
    27
See reviews for
347
1,082
94
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days and I must say compared to some of the other "big" names in Amsterdam, this is by far one of the best hotels. It oozes luxury, ambience is amazing, staff is super friendly and moreover location could not be more perfect.

I must say it was an absolutely amazing experience. Every night, staff would love something in my room like Dutch pastries, fruit basket, champagne etc. location is wonderful as it is pretty much walking distance to the "Big square", "red light district", central station, shopping street etc. I had a view of th canal which was excellent. I must say totally worth the price!


I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get on the 4 th floor with a view of the canal. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos_sfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I can't overstate how fine this place is. Reception very warm and friendly. Design of room coolest I have ever seen. Bathroom fixtures were awesome and I've never noticed fixtures in my life. Stone floor, stone sink, stone shower. Bed very comfortable. I did not want to leave.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Grand itself is a very nice hotel, but a nice hotel must also have a nice restaurant.
The Bridges (Bar part excluded)reminds me more of a cantine without any elegance or refinement.
The meny is boring, tired with nothing to show for a food-junkie!
This reflects unfortuatelly to the attitude of the senior waiter/manager/maitre´d of the restaurant. He could show no flexiblity to suggested alternatives, but could only respond as Sir Negative and Mr No.
Bar people on the contrary were lovely and very customer oriented.
But do not let that let you down, with places like La rive and Vermeer you are in food haven. Lucky you if you go there instead.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sultanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

By far the best hotel in Amsterdam what a lovely experience we had on our very short 3 day honeymoon but they made us feel so welcome. The staff is fantastic, the ambience second to none, the beds perfect, the location spot on and the food delicious, what more could I want well time to stay a few extra nights would have made it even better. I can not fault this hotel, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I travel for a living and understand that the best hotels in the world are the one's where they know your name. In other words, the level of service and hospitality make you feel right at home. The Sofitel Legand The Grand has one of the finest teams I have ever experienced. Arriving from an red eye from Vancouver, I was able to check in early, the concierge ensured I received my bags immediately, they let me know that if I booked museum passes with them, I would bypass long lines, which I did, their suggestion for dinner was excellent and I was treated like a Queen during breakfast, with my waiter running to and from the exceptional buffet bringing me samples of local food he wanted me to try, AND he had the bartender create a morning elixer to help rid jetlag. The head concierge arranged my seats and checked me in to my flight to Kenya and arranged a taxi to the airport. I would return to Amsterdam just to stay in this hotel again. And as a women often traveling solo, i was in the middle of downtown Amsterdam and felt like I had a team not only caring for me but also looking out for me. It was bliss!

Room Tip: Take the historic tour of the hotel - it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPRVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
138 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Besides the wonderful location, which allows you to walk anywhere you need, this hotel oozes grandness and history.
The contrast of the historical building with the modern and edgy decor really surprised me - public areas and the rooms are all designed with really good taste! The Sofitel "MyBed™" feels like you're sleeping on a cloud...
From check-in to guest relations' manager, everyone was extremely courteous and helpful, not to mention well groomed and smartly dressed - in a way that really caught my attention. Breakfast (served on the "Bridges" restaurant with a very funky and cool feel) is very good and offer a nice variety of cold items and a few hot ones, served to order.
Unfortunately I was there for only one night, but looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing