We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing structure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing structure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for 5 night and seems to me it is a very beatifull hotel in a historic building right in the middle of Amsterdam. Very close toAnne Frank House or the Red Light District. From my opinion they have a most confortable bed.

Room Tip: Try the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paullinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,676
    359
    104
    48
    28
See reviews for
352
1,102
95
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is rare in Europe now to find exemplary service, but the Sofitel Grand in Amsterdam does this is a quite special manner. Great attention to detail, warm and friendly hospitality without being overbearing. Hotel itself is well located, well maintained and well staffed, a very good choice for either a business or leisure trip to Amsterdam. Oh and the breakfast is superb!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS BEIRUT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean, stayed in 2 connected rooms. One room was larger than the other, my kids room was on the small scale, so when u book ask for the large one. I can't exactly remember the rank of the large superior or deluxe I'm not sure. Breakfast is very good. Kids loved the waffles. We used to have our breakfast ordered to the room. Location, location, location. Walking distance to dam square and attractions.
Concierge ver helpful. Gave us the name of 2 restaurants and turned out the choice were excellent. We enjoyed our stay there and our kids too. We'll be returning soon.
Sofitel Amsterdam deserves many thumbs up not only one. We loved it! Don't hesitate in booking this hotel in your next trip to Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NANOORasBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If this is 5 star, I will stick with 4 star for the price difference and quicker service....

We waited over 30 minutes for two glasses of wine and when we asked if it would be much longer, the waitress responded, why are you in a hurry? Waited a really long time to check in and had requested one bed instead of two singles and still did not get what we requested. Even though we are Gold Members they were not able to upgrade us. Rooms were not cleaned by 4pm Saturday and when we came back for a nap before dinner they called us in the midst of it and asked us when we could get out so they could clean the room.

We seemed to wait a really long time for everything. After coming home from shopping one day, we had a lot of bags and did not want to go up to the room straight away, so asked if they could hold onto them for us. They offered to bring it to the room but when we came back at midnight, they still had not been able to do this. Although, they did go out of their way after the restaurant was closed, to see if we could order from room service menu in the courtyard for dessert and coffees, which was absolutely delicious.

The good things about this hotel were: the décor is beautiful, outside courtyard is very peaceful, comfort of the rooms is very good and the pool/spa area are wonderful; the water temperature was perfect, they had a wonderful steam room and infinity pool option. We could not figure out how the Jacuzzi part of the pool worked and could not find anyone around for assistance.

I would stay here again, but only if I got a good deal and for the spa and room quality, not for the service or hospitality. Had a much better experience in Paris and Montpellier which is surprising to me considering I love Dutch people. Have visited Amsterdam about 10 times in the last 3 years and all my other times here have not had this kind of service and hospitality :(

Room Tip: Canal room has a nice view. Try to get upgraded if you can for more space. Rooms are not very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdelangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

One of the best hotels ever. When we arrived, the type of room we booked was full, so we got an upgrade. WOW! Our room was amazing! But even if we didn't get a suite, the location was perfect, walking distance from everywhere, kind staff. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaBraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend away to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful stay at the Sofitel Legend in Amsterdam :-)

On arrival the reception staff were extremely friendly & made us feel immediately welcome. As a surprise they had organised a complimentary half bottle of champagne to arrive in our room to celebrate our anniversary which was a wonderful start to our weekend. Our room was canal facing and very comfortable and quiet, considering that the hotel in based in the heart of the Red Light District!

We chose to have breakfast at the hotel and whilst it wasn't the cheapest we have had I.e €35 per person there was a very good choice and range of continental and cooked breakfast options and the staff were very obliging.

Both evenings we sat in the courtyard for early cocktails and again the staff were friendly and the environment was beautiful for a relaxed drink!

Overall this is a wonderful hotel and would definitely recommend this for a weekend break, preferably without children, to really enjoy this beautiful and historical building and surroundings.

My only comment to add would be that the superior rooms have a bath, as the shower was great but always lovely to have an opportunity to relax in a bath on such weekends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

For those looking for a high-end ideal location for a visit to Amsterdam, this is it. Great modern rooms facing a quiet canal with a warm and very welcoming staff. If I could clone the team and the building and put it in other cities around the globe I would do it tomorrow!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,316 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing