We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Legend is a lovely city hotel located not far from the Central Station and within walking distance of the museum district to the south. Many attractive parts of the city are also reachable on foot. The building is historic and has a wonderful ambience along with a beautiful courtyard with settees and casual dining. Our room overlooked the canal on the 2nd floor and was quiet. Everything was up to the usual Sofitel standard including a giant king-size bed with its soft under-blanket which gives the impression of sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom layout was unusual – it ran the length of one of the bedroom walls and had 2 doors. The door to the left accessed the bath and wash basin; the door to the right accessed the toilet. The bathroom part and the toilet were linked by a “shower corridor” which had a glass door to separate it from the toilet. The only inconvenience with this arrangement was that the hair dryer and vanity unit was located in the toilet section. We did not dine at the hotel in the evening so cannot comment on the various dining options. We did enjoy a high quality breakfast (rather pricey at €37.50) which was excellent with a cold buffet offering almost all imaginable options and hot food cooked to order and beautifully presented. Despite being extremely busy the service was excellent and courteous. The Legend is expensive but, I think, worth it for location, ambiance and service – we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

From the hotel chains the Sofitel is my favorite. They know how to differentiate their hotels so it's not a copy-and-paste style. The Sofitel AMS is a bit pricy but it offers great experience. Fantastic Dutch service with a touch of French. The location is superb for exploring AMS, the rooms feel like home. We would without a doubt be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dara C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful hotel in late July.

Good:
The hotel is amazing- a beautiful old building but rooms were very new with a wonderful set up
Location is great just around the corner from Dam square
Staff were friendly and helpful

Bad:
Nothing!

Don't bother looking at other hotels in Amsterdam you won't regret staying at the Sofitel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMissShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The design and style of the Sofitel Legend is remarkable. The history of the building is long and impressive and to create a fabulous hotel whilst keeping the original buildings much have been a challenge. The end result is an elegant, stylish hotel which caters to the most discerning guests. The hotel is located right in the centre of Amsterdam, but just far away enough from the main tourist streets to be quiet. An added bonus is the smiling attentive staff who made our stay even more special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dineindulge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel, if you want a bit of luxury, stay here! Staff very helpful and made sure we had a great stay! We even had a heated toilet seat!! High specification bathroom and large room! A great winter stay! Very central, it is about a 1 minute walk from Dam Square across the bridge! Perfect stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elouisesamuels10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here during a weekend. If you are in for sightseeing in Amsterdam, this should be the place to stay. The hotel is located in the very city core. 2 minutes walking to Dam Square (almost all the trams pass through here). However as the hotel is situated in a quiet street you will not get the usual noise from the street (even during the heavy alcoholic hours). Its in the same street as Red Light District, however much further south, therefore you are not disturbed by the windows (if you do not like that kind of view). The hotel has a great lobby with an excellent decor and furbushing. The breakfast is the standards you expect from this kind of hotels. They provide you with attention. Just to give an example; I love eggs and they even ask me how I like the eggs and they made them spot on (6,5 minutes).

The rooms are large with very nice furbished rooms (as the rest of the hotel). The beds will give you a good night sleep. I cannot say anything negative regarding the rooms. I only stayed in Standard, however Standard rooms in this hotel exceeds many superior or deluxe rooms I have slept (in the same hotel class)

Only one minor negative point was; while we were waiting for the dinner in the lounge I could quite easily observe the stress in the employees faces. One waiter came with some snacks but forgot some spoons. 2 minutes later the supervisor walked passed and took it away and said "This is not according to our procedures, I will bring you the right plate" and went away with it. The other waiter came back with the spoons he had forgotten. And then the suporvisor came back and adressed to the waiter the right procedures in front of us. For me it was visible that the employees were not relaxed (lots of running around). It did ruin some of the relaxing ambiance. (however it also show how detail oriented the hotel are, and seeking perfection from the staff)

This is absolutely one of the best hotels in Amsterdam. I would choose this hotel next time I arrive here. For the price, very good value for money. Quality service and helpful staff. Do not take the negative section too bad , it is not a reason not to choose this pearl.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Setekleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,398 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,668 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $324 - $1,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing