We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A design pearl!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #14 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here during a weekend. If you are in for sightseeing in Amsterdam, this should be the place to stay. The hotel is located in the very city core. 2 minutes walking to Dam Square (almost all the trams pass through here). However as the hotel is situated in a quiet street you will not get the usual noise from the street (even during the heavy alcoholic hours). Its in the same street as Red Light District, however much further south, therefore you are not disturbed by the windows (if you do not like that kind of view). The hotel has a great lobby with an excellent decor and furbushing. The breakfast is the standards you expect from this kind of hotels. They provide you with attention. Just to give an example; I love eggs and they even ask me how I like the eggs and they made them spot on (6,5 minutes).

The rooms are large with very nice furbished rooms (as the rest of the hotel). The beds will give you a good night sleep. I cannot say anything negative regarding the rooms. I only stayed in Standard, however Standard rooms in this hotel exceeds many superior or deluxe rooms I have slept (in the same hotel class)

Only one minor negative point was; while we were waiting for the dinner in the lounge I could quite easily observe the stress in the employees faces. One waiter came with some snacks but forgot some spoons. 2 minutes later the supervisor walked passed and took it away and said "This is not according to our procedures, I will bring you the right plate" and went away with it. The other waiter came back with the spoons he had forgotten. And then the suporvisor came back and adressed to the waiter the right procedures in front of us. For me it was visible that the employees were not relaxed (lots of running around). It did ruin some of the relaxing ambiance. (however it also show how detail oriented the hotel are, and seeking perfection from the staff)

This is absolutely one of the best hotels in Amsterdam. I would choose this hotel next time I arrive here. For the price, very good value for money. Quality service and helpful staff. Do not take the negative section too bad , it is not a reason not to choose this pearl.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Setekleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,614)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 2,617 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Probably the best hotel I stayed at in a long time, I was there for a meeting and spend a few extra days... The location is just outside of the red district which can be a negative, with kids and a plus if that is your cup of tea... The place is on the expensive side. The rooms are great and lean. I ate there once and really nothing special about the food...it is fairly central to museums and other attractions...

Room Tip: I strongly recommend the Van Gogh museum, a canal tour, and biking for few hours...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashraf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A fantastic hotel with service and room quality to match.

OK, we were upgraded to a suite and it was just brilliant, but the rest of the hotel looke equally great so I dont think this review is biased at all.

First impressions are that this is proper quality, not flash or showy, but just deep down quality. Excellent check-in experience and the room, well just fabulous..... From the little things like a heated loo seat (temperature adjustable naturally) to Hermes shampoo, the place oozes class.

A truly comfortable bed, like all Sofitels, big tv's, bose surround sound and all the bits that go to make this now one of my favourite hotels in all the word. Sadly we were there only one night, wish it had been longer but a couple of things that may help - first is that a car is more a hinderence staying in central Amsterdam, we left ours with a friends on the outskirts and got a train there and back - its a ten minute walk or ten (one way streets) in a taxi for about 10 Euro. Second , its on the edge of the red light district, but you can easily avoid it so don't be put off by that.

Finally, the courtyard bar is a real oasis of calm in a city centre, beautifully designed - albeit you can tell you are in a Sofitel - its a grand place to sip an evening G&T, again with faultless service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everything was excellent. My husband and I spent at Sofitel one night for our 5th wedding anniversary in a luxury room.
And everything was really luxury. Starting from the location; the view at the canal; the reception; the room; the service…everything.
Our room was cleaned two times during one night stay. First time we didn't even asked for it, we only asked to have the TV reception for the bathroom TV fixed.
When we returned to our room after our dinner the TV reception was fixed, the room was cleaned and the Nespresso coffee was refilled.
The SPA is not that big but is enough to have some relax. I most liked the hamam, the sauna and the pool were ok too but the hamam was much better.
The next morning we had the continental breakfast. A large choice of everything. The service was very very quick. And people everyone was very polite.
When we left with our car the hotel had left a small attention for the return trip.

Room Tip: I personally loved the canal view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adaBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the tail end of all week business trip across four countries. The hotel occupies the building of the former city hall and has been retrofitted to modern standards including rooms and bathrooms. Pleasant, helpful staff, central location steps from the museums and restaurants along nearby canals. Excellent buffet breakfast and not outrageously priced either, which cannot be said about most hotels of similar standards. Rooms overlooking the courtyard may get a tad noisy in the evenings especially if one wants to keep a window open. Would definitely come back if traveling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Beutiful and well designed hotel with attention to detail. Amazing spacious room, great service and fantastic breakfast. The location is unbeatable as the hotel is within a minute from everything the center of Amsterdam has to offer.
It is of course an expensive hotel but the only thing i found a bit overpriced was the hotel's private parking that charged us 50eur per 24hour (150eur for 3 days) despite the fact that we where hotel guests which is unusual but on the other hand parking in central Amsterdam is almost non existent.
I would definetly stay there again as everything about this hotel was more than expected.

Room Tip: Get a Canal view room, worth the difference
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panagiotis_Salapatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived in Amsterdam two nights early for a cruise and stayed at the Sofitel Grand Hotel Amsterdam. The hotel couldn’t have been better. It is a beautiful property with excellent service. The staff was so polite! The location was perfect for sightseeing. We were able to see everything we wanted on foot.

Since we had large heavy suitcases, we took a taxi from the airport to the Sofitel, for 56 €. It was after 11:00 when we arrived at the hotel, and thankfully we were able to get into our room and a much-needed shower, after waiting only 15 minutes. We asked for a quiet room, were assigned a 4th floor (5th story) room with a pretty canal view, and had no difficulties with noise. Our room was very comfortable and was equipped with everything one might need. The bedroom was smallish and the bathroom was a nice size.

You could pay for high-speed WiFi, but the Sofitel’s free version was fine for our needs. We were even able to stream video. The login only lasted one day, but you can log in again for free each day you stay there. I really enjoyed the Nespresso machine in the room, although I had to go online to figure out how to operate it. There is a lever in the top that according to all rules of rational design should have controlled something variable like amount or strength. Instead, you pushed it back for steam, towards the middle for off, and forward to brew, which in my jetlagged state was completely non-obvious. Fortunately the manual was available on the Web.

We started our only full day in Amsterdam by enjoying the Sofitel’s buffet breakfast. It was high priced at 40 € per person, but it was convenient, very extensive and high quality. They offered a choice of a hot item cooked to order. I especially enjoyed the exotic tropical fruits, and service was excellent.

Before we left, I worked out in the Sofitel gym, which was very small (one treadmill, one stair machine, two bikes) but adequate. The pool and sauna looked nice. We had the bell captain call us a cab to the cruise terminal (11 €). No one at the Sofitel ever acted like they expected a tip. In fact, the bellman who delivered our bags made it impossible to tip him by leaving immediately. This was a cultural adjustment, coming from the U.S.

I enthusiastically recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoralReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,326 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $342 - $940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing