We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$286
$227
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$240
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$318
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$274
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$263
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$542
$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$414
$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$318
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$68
$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,861)
Filter reviews
2,861 results
Traveler rating
2,186
456
128
58
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,186
456
128
58
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtbutler serviceflying dutchmanhermes toiletriesluxury roomjunior suitedam squareturn down servicewonderful hotelstar hotelcanal viewthe heart of the citythe location is perfectnespresso machineanne frank housevan gogh museumcentral station
Filter
Updating list...
1,281 - 1,286 of 2,861 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Probably the best hotel I stayed at in a long time, I was there for a meeting and spend a few extra days... The location is just outside of the red district which can be a negative, with kids and a plus if that is your cup of tea... The place is on the expensive side. The rooms are great and lean. I ate there once and really nothing special about the food...it is fairly central to museums and other attractions...

Room Tip: I strongly recommend the Van Gogh museum, a canal tour, and biking for few hours...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashraf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A fantastic hotel with service and room quality to match.

OK, we were upgraded to a suite and it was just brilliant, but the rest of the hotel looke equally great so I dont think this review is biased at all.

First impressions are that this is proper quality, not flash or showy, but just deep down quality. Excellent check-in experience and the room, well just fabulous..... From the little things like a heated loo seat (temperature adjustable naturally) to Hermes shampoo, the place oozes class.

A truly comfortable bed, like all Sofitels, big tv's, bose surround sound and all the bits that go to make this now one of my favourite hotels in all the word. Sadly we were there only one night, wish it had been longer but a couple of things that may help - first is that a car is more a hinderence staying in central Amsterdam, we left ours with a friends on the outskirts and got a train there and back - its a ten minute walk or ten (one way streets) in a taxi for about 10 Euro. Second , its on the edge of the red light district, but you can easily avoid it so don't be put off by that.

Finally, the courtyard bar is a real oasis of calm in a city centre, beautifully designed - albeit you can tell you are in a Sofitel - its a grand place to sip an evening G&T, again with faultless service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everything was excellent. My husband and I spent at Sofitel one night for our 5th wedding anniversary in a luxury room.
And everything was really luxury. Starting from the location; the view at the canal; the reception; the room; the service…everything.
Our room was cleaned two times during one night stay. First time we didn't even asked for it, we only asked to have the TV reception for the bathroom TV fixed.
When we returned to our room after our dinner the TV reception was fixed, the room was cleaned and the Nespresso coffee was refilled.
The SPA is not that big but is enough to have some relax. I most liked the hamam, the sauna and the pool were ok too but the hamam was much better.
The next morning we had the continental breakfast. A large choice of everything. The service was very very quick. And people everyone was very polite.
When we left with our car the hotel had left a small attention for the return trip.

Room Tip: I personally loved the canal view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adaBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the tail end of all week business trip across four countries. The hotel occupies the building of the former city hall and has been retrofitted to modern standards including rooms and bathrooms. Pleasant, helpful staff, central location steps from the museums and restaurants along nearby canals. Excellent buffet breakfast and not outrageously priced either, which cannot be said about most hotels of similar standards. Rooms overlooking the courtyard may get a tad noisy in the evenings especially if one wants to keep a window open. Would definitely come back if traveling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Beutiful and well designed hotel with attention to detail. Amazing spacious room, great service and fantastic breakfast. The location is unbeatable as the hotel is within a minute from everything the center of Amsterdam has to offer.
It is of course an expensive hotel but the only thing i found a bit overpriced was the hotel's private parking that charged us 50eur per 24hour (150eur for 3 days) despite the fact that we where hotel guests which is unusual but on the other hand parking in central Amsterdam is almost non existent.
I would definetly stay there again as everything about this hotel was more than expected.

Room Tip: Get a Canal view room, worth the difference
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PanSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews