We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Sofitel Legend! The hotel fully met our expectations, we were impressed by friendly staff, nice atmosphere of "old-time" luxury Amsterdam. Their restaurant “Bridges” is also something exceptional. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kostyaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam and for leaving your review here on TripAdvisor.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and it is a delight to read that you really enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our ambassadors take great pride in letting our guests leave impressed.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Amsterdam in the future.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    420
    119
    50
    33
See reviews for
417
1,280
104
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a wonderful time in the Sofitel hotel in Rome, and because of that I chose the Sofitel in Amsterdam. Again, I found the hotel to be safe and comfortable, The staff were warm and friendly and helpful. The room I had was quiet, dark enough, and the right temperature, The bed was perfect and so were the pillows and sheets. The bathroom was sensibly appointed. I found the whole experience to be peaceful and stress - free. I find it difficult to sleep, wspecially when travelling, so I really appreciate the conditions that I described. It made my stay 100% more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 397holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to read that your room was so much appreciated by you; after all it is our mission to indulge your senses and make sure that you have a peaceful journey to a far-away dream.

We hope that with you we have another ambassador for the Sofitel brand and especially for Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Yours sincerely,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Check in was a breeze, our room (as requested prior due to us celebrating our Anniversary) over looked the canal on the 3rd floor. Room was wonderful and the bed was to die for. So much that we overslept our alarm clock and checked out at 11:55 am. So beyond sad because the hotel had so much to offer, was gorgeous, with fabulous staff and we missed it all. But hey, a good nights sleep obviously was what we needed prior to our cruise that we took out of Amsterdam.

I loved the room, the details, the amenities, and the helpful front desk that gave us a map so we could tour the city after we checked in an before bed.

The best thing was the location. We walked to everything which was wonderful. So close to Dam Square, Red Light District and an easy walk to Van Gogh Museum.

We will be back for sure and will be staying at the Sofitel again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to wish you a happy anniversary and thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam as the hotel to celebrate it in.

It is wonderful to read that you liked the room and apparently adored the Sofitel MyBed.

We hope that you enjoyed the cruise and are looking forward to your return to Amsterdam. Please rest assured the hotel and our ambassadors will still be there. I can recommend you to take the daily historical tour, on which you will not only be showed the entire hotel, but also our rich history will be shared with you.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was fortunate to get a first floor room with an amazing view over the beautiful canal out the front of the hotel. This was without doubt, one of the most amazing rooms I have stayed in for many years - from a view perspective. Unfortunately, the air conditioning in the room was hard to get right and the temperature was either too hot or too cold (mind you, I didn't raise this with any hotel staff). I was really impressed with just about every aspect of the Hotel, particularly the service in the bar late one evening !

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view over the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evansclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you kindly for leaving a review about our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It delights me to read that you found the view from your room to be amazing. Did you know that the Canal Ring was added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List and that it already celebrates its 400th anniversary this year?

Our ambassadors would have been happy to assist you with your air conditioning. For any future visit: do not hesitate to contact them.

Thank you again for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam during your visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The service was impeccable and the staff very professional and helpful. It is central and in walking distance to all the tourist attraction of Amsterdam. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the breakfast very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

What a nice words from you here on TripAdvisor! We appreciate that you have taken time to write this review.

Our ambassadors are men and women who are truly passionate about their profession, men and women who bring the hotel to life. They bring a ray of sunshine to everyday life, and place their considerable talents at the service of our travelers.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam in the future.

Kind regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We were supposed to have an appartment but they upgraded us to a suite since my mother could not handle stairs with her handicap. The suite was lovely. The service was simply impeccable probably the best I ever had. It goes with the price but it really is worth it. They make you feel very special

Helpful?
Thank kat_nc98
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It is so nice to read that our ambassadors were able to meet the needs of you and your mother and that the upgrade to the Suite was appreciated. All our Suites are unique locations, steeped in history and infused with memories of a distant past.

We are grateful for your review here on TripAdvisor and we wish that we may have the chance to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for my husbands 30th birthday. The room we had booked wasn't available (had booked one with a bath & TV), but were given a rain shower room. When we informed staff they upgraded us to a suite for our 3 night stay which was incredible. The hotel is luxurious in every way and staff are extremely polite and helpful - even sent a birthday cake up to our room for my husband. We didn't eat at the hotel as wanted to see more of Amsterdam, but had a few drinks in the 'pub' bar each night which was lovely. We were invited to a photographer's opening exhibition within the hotel with special guests which turned out to be the Jackson family who were staying there - we had no idea Michael Jackson used to stay at this hotel, so this was just an added bonus and demonstrates how luxurious the hotel is. I would stay here again if I'm ever in Amsterdam as it's also the perfect location for sight-seeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becs4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Jan W, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Those grand words about our hotel are highly appreciated.

I am delighted to read that our ambassadors were able to turn an unavailable room into an incredible experience. It must have been amazing to spend this anniversary stay in one of our Suites.

You were fortunate that you were staying in our hotel at the time of the opening of the exhibition ‘Claude Vanheye – Famous Popstars in Amsterdam’. For us it was wonderful that The Jackson Four opened the exhibition.

We hope that you have the chance to visit Amsterdam again in the future and then, we will be ready to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,292 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
707 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,584 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing