We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before sofitel bought it over and it was very good but sofitel has taken it to another level.
The service was absolutely flawless from every member of staff and they are trained to the highest level.
The hotel blend contemporary design with traditional so well and the public rooms through to the guest bedrooms are a joy to spend time in.
This hotel realises that its all in the detail and they have created something really special.
this hotel made our break extra special.
Truly Outstanding

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for your wonderful words about your stay here at The Grand and for taking the time to share this on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to learn that we had the opportunity to welcome you back. Indeed we had an extensive renovation where we have blended modern French design with incorporated details of the rich history of the building, but we have also taken our service to the next level.

Dear guest, it was an honor that we had the possibility to make your stay extra special and we all hope to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,858
    398
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
388
1,222
98
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been to many european hotels and this one clearly came out as one of the best one I stayed for that really Ğ☺☺đ value for my money. Ğ☺☺đ location, sizeable and modern rooms, excellent pools and sauna and really2 Ğ☺☺đ breakfast. They really pampered us on this one

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawill20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing your experiences at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It is an honor to read that you describe us as the best hotel in Europe. Every day it is our goal to pamper all of our guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I don't usually write reviews but felt it was necessary to compliment the staff and highlight the amenities this hotel offers. The concierge was extremely helpful, efficient and friendly. They arranged for a MB S-class transport from the airport to the hotel and museum tix for my wife and I. The hotel exemplifies class and quality. The architecture is something to marvel. The bartenders were always happy to see us, or so they seemed, even at 1AM. The location is perfect - walk to everything Amsterdam has to offer if you can pry yourself out of the super comfortable bed. Bathroom was large with great water pressure in a large walk-in shower with rain shower and wand shower. Room service food was of excellent quality and extremely quick. The gym/pool were great for a quick vacation workout. I could only give 3 stars for sleep quality because I was given the room directly on top of the loading dock. You'll probably be fine with any other room in the hotel.

Room Tip: Learn from my mistake and skip the online travel sites for this reservation - talk to reservations f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I am enchanted by your wonderful review about your experiences at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It makes me very proud at the entire team here at The Grand. I am very happy to read that our team was at your service at all times during your stay.

Furthermore it as a pleasure to learn how much you have enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the facilities the hotel has to offer. Nonetheless, I do regret to read the inconvenience you have experienced from noise in your room. Please rest assured that this will be taken into action.

Dear Matt, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

On the the fringe of the bustling red light district this hotel is a great place to stay. Beautiful building with lovely bars and dining areas. Rooms spacious with big bathrooms and separate showers. Considering the location the rooms are really quiet with comfortable beds and big soft pillows. Staff are very polite and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay thank you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
It is a pleasure to read your experiences at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. Thank you for sharing this on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of our signature Sofitel My|Bed in your room as well as the location of the hotel. We are indeed located in the lively city center of Amsterdam but due to our two courtyards we offer an oasis on tranquility.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the Christmas period for five days. We usually spend Christmas in Amsterdam but this was our first time at the Grand. Prior to our visit communication with the hotel's staff (concierge and reception) had been excellent. Our first impression of the hotel was good - the lobby was stylish and smelt good too! On arrival we were upgraded to an apartment which was very spacious and immaculately kept.Amenities were all we could have asked for. The living area was comfortable, with sofas and chairs aplenty and a good sized dining table. Upstairs the bathroom was a great size and had everything we could have needed.
As we were tired from the journey we stayed in our room and used room service to dine in. The service from the waiters was excellent, the food of a high standard and arrived promptly.
We experienced a few niggles with the technology but again these were handled promptly and efficiently by the housekeeping staff.
Location of the hotel is good, only 15-20 minutes walk from a wide variety of attractions. Reception staff, concierge, doormen - all were excellent in their levels of service.
So why only nearly brilliant? Well it is the service of the waiting staff at breakfast that let the hotel down. Apart from the first morning when the service was efficient and handled by only 2 waiting staff, the following mornings were not relaxing or efficient. On one occasion it took 30 minutes to get a hot beverage from sitting down at a table and requesting it! Equally the number of waiting staff who seemed to only be able to do one thing was astonishing. We had so many different people to deliver drinks, bread, cooked food etc...but this did not seem to improve the speed and efficiency of the service. The apologies for delays were always offered with a smile but lacked a real sense of warmth and customer care.
Clearly the hotel and Bridges has a 'look' but on a minor note the number of female staff who had poorly sewn hemlines on their uniform did not assist in the overall feel of chaos and lack of care for service. If you are going for a look then at least make sure it is consistent.Additionally neither of us felt the Christmas meal was good value and the restaurant didn't really make any additions to the decor etc... which I found a little disappointing. Having a special dinner requires a special place and we didn't think it had much ambience.
The key question - would we stay again? Yes we would and I would definitely recommend the hotel but with reservations regarding eating in Bridges.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
I would like to thank you for your extensive review on Tripadvisor, but most of all for choosing to stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It is an absolute pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed your Apartment-Suite, and that you even decided to have in-room dining.

However, I am very surprised to read your experience at our restaurant Bridges. At breakfast we offer an extensive buffet and during busy periods we have extra staff to make sure our guests our guests are not affected by this. The experience you had is definitely not our style. As well as during dinner on Christmas Eve, it is our passion to create special memories. Please rest assured that we will take these comments into action.

I do hope that we may have the honour to welcome you back in the future and that we also have the opportunity to give you a memorable experience in our restaurant Bridges.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing