We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    420
    119
    50
    33
See reviews for
417
1,280
104
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first trip to Amsterdam. We wanted to stay in the center of the city, and in a nice place that would serve as our home away from home. The Sofitel Grand was terrific. Our room was spacious, functional, beautiful, and even had wonderful views of one of Amsterdam's famous canals. It was tastefully contemporary, which is our preference. The staff was fantastic--welcoming, helpful, always friendly, and always professional. The amenities in the hotel were very nice. We had our best meal of our stay in their restaurant Bridges (we reviewed that separately), greatly enjoyed the "library," a very comfortable room in which one could get food and drink while enjoying books, newspapers, and a fireplace, and the outdoor courtyard was beautiful. breakfast was included with our package and it was a wonderful buffet that included many local delicacies.

The hotel is walking distance from most of the major attractions for first-time visitors to Amsterdam. We greatly enjoyed out first trip to Amsterdam and will return. When we do, we'll stay here again. No need for us to consider alternatives.

Room Tip: The canal views are terrific if you can get a room with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce-Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are delighted to read that your first visit to Amsterdam was such an enjoyable one. Your words have served as an encouragement to all Sofitel Ambassadors to keep on providing such high standard of services.

The Executive Chef felt really proud when hearing that you have had such an enjoyable meal at our restaurant Bridges as he uses only the best products.

Do please contact us directly when you know your travel plans for the future, and we would be happy to make the necessary arrangements. We look forward to continuing to be your home away from home..

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den bosch
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Normally we stay at the Dylan, when we are in Amsterdam. This time, we stayed in the city with a few friends and they all decided to stay at the Grand, so we did too. We booked the Luxury room and it was okay. I like the style of the rooms at the Dylan much better, their interior design is really great, but I decided not to whine about that.

The point is that the location of the Dylan is so much better, even though the tourists think that they are in the center of everything when they stay at the Grand, they are not. It is a very touristy location. Even the red light district seems as if it is a set up only for the tourists, but except that there are so much more better and nicer neighborhoods in Amsterdam! The surroundings of the Dylan are great, but also when you go to the Okura Hotel and you walk around a little, you'll see that that neighborhood (called "the Pijp") is really friendly and fun. Quiet but great at the same time.

Anyway, one thing I didn't like about our room in the Grand was the shower. There was a bathtub and a rain shower. Rainshowers are okay, if there is another shower tap too, one where you can shower without getting your hair all wet. That is impossible in a rain shower. There was a small hand shower, but that is not what I mean. When we stay in 5*-hotels like this, that are renovated, you normally find a choice of taps in the shower.

But that was not what annoyed us the most. What was really annoying was that in the morning at 08:15 housekeeping rang at the doorbell, to ask if they could start cleaning. We found that unbelievable. They rang at other doors too, so they must have waken (a really loud sound!) many more people.
How is it possible that housekeeping can even THINK of starting to clean rooms at 08:15??

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingdutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback. Your feedback is considered as the most valuable tool to evaluate the high quality of service expected by our guests.

I am surprised to read that our location was not what you expected it to be. We are right in the middle of the city centre, but due to the structure of the building and especially the courtyard, we offer an oases of tranquility.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the fact you have been disturbed by our Housekeeping department early in the morning. This is certainly not our style and I would like to assure you that this matter has been taken into action.

I do hope, together with all the Ambassadors of The Grand, that we may welcome you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to personally discuss these matters further.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Before our business visit, we were recommended by our friends who stayed in this hotel before.When we arrived , we understood that they were right.The location was good, the food was nice.If we have to visit Amsterdam one more time , we eill be there sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing such nice feedback. Please do also thank your friends for recommending Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I am very pleased to read that we were able to create a memorable stay and we all look very much forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Our first visit to the Sofitel Legend and we will return.
Quite exceptional customer service,beautiful accommodation and a great restaurant.
The location is perfect,though the red light district is 100 metres away.
I now understand the toys of Christian Grey !!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brad_holbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Brad,

I am very proud to read that we were able to give you a true 5-star experience. It is always our aim to pamper all of our guests here at The Grand.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were in Europe on business and had a spare two days before having to return home. We decided to visit Amsterdam. A travel agent recommended this hotel and I was so glad they did. We travel a fair bit through Europe and America and this hotel had the best service we have ever received. From the check-in staff to the cleaners they were all delightful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were beautifully appointed and the position of the hotel was very central. Breakfast was magnificent with great variety. Highly recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for such wonderful feedback from an experienced traveler. Please also thank your travel agent for recommending our hotel. Our passion is to indulge all our guests with our extensive service.

It makes me proud to read that all the Ambassadors of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam contributed to your magnificent stay.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Fantastic stay.... Booked a suite and was lucky to be upgraded to apartment/suite.
All staff could not be more helpfully ,reception Ladies your amazing 10 out of 10 (I never give 10,s)
Luxury , relaxing, Stylish and history make this hotel the grand place it is.
Every body must have a bit of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam in there life time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotHotJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your delightful review about your experience at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. Especially for the attentive words you wrote about the ladies at Reception. I am pleased that you got to experience the high services in each and every department.

It is indeed the blend of contemporary design with the rich history of the building which makes our hotel truly grand.

I hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,292 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,583 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing