We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel The Grand is Grand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sofitel The Grand is Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Sofitel Legend The Grand is grand indeed. Located within the Central Canal Ring you know that you will be staying at a grand hotel the minute you walk into the central cobblestoned courtyard. We were greeted by several doorman who handled our luggage, then escorted us to the front desk. Equally impressive was the courteousness and thoroughness of the staff. Our luggage arrived wiithin minutes of arriving in our superior room. Room 410 (top floor) faced one of canals. We had a lovely view. Our room was well-appointed with a very comfortable bed and down-duvet. The bathroom has a wonderful walk-in shower with both rain-shower head and a separate shower wand. Towels hung on a warming rack which was very nice. The first morning we treated ourselves to the scrumptious buffet breakfast The waitstaff was very attentive and pleasant. After a long day of walking Amsterdam we took advantage of the in-house swimming pool and sauna. The spa is serene, quiet, clean and well stocked with towels and a perfect way to refresh. The Sofitel is only several blocks away from the Red Light District and Dam Square where you can hop onto any tram or bus to take you around Amsterdam. The concierge was always helpful in arranging dinner reservation even at the last minute. Check out was very easy and the staff had arranged for a taxi to take us to Schipol Airport. The Sofitel Leged The Grand is a superb luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycnative1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,616
    342
    101
    46
    27
See reviews for
334
1,058
91
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here mid May and were very impressed. Our junior suite was large with a lovely view of the canal. Our Room was spacious very comfortable and we loved the history and location of the hotel. We were going on a cruise for two weeks and Paul (concierge) said when we return two weeks later we could leave our luggage at the hotel for the day as our flight was only at night. We were very grateful for that. All the staff we met were wonderful and very friendly and accommodating. We would definitly return to Sofitel Grand legend. We were within close walking distance to Dam square, good restaurants and shopping.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveller77722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed four nights at The Grand. The hotel has an excelent location, you can walk to the main Amsterdam's attractions. Clean sheets and rooms. Great pilows. The bed was too soft for me, then I asked the reception and they fixed this "problem" in a few minutes. My room had a Nespresso coffee machine and a great shower. The give you still water and nespresso coffee as a complementary. The pool and the room service were really great either.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows to the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel-FLN-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam for one night in April 2012 prior to a river cruise, and were very impressed by the ambience of the hotel and the service at the restaurant. The hotel was a convent at one time and then became a town hall, but the rooms and public areas are totally modern. There is a nice inner courtyard and a sculpture exhibition during our stay. The Bridges restaurant served excellent seafood. I had dinner there by myself because my wife was not feeling well, and the waiter managed to serve me very quickly at my request, and I finished my dinner in 30 minutes! The breakfast next morning included an amazing outlay of fresh fruits, juices, cold cuts, bread and hot items to order, and we had one of the best waitresses we ever encountered. We would rate this breakfast experience perhaps only second to the one at the Liao Liao Resort in Argentina. The hotel is also located near the Dam Square and an easy walk to many places of interest. This was our third visit to Amsterdam, and if we go back there again, this would be the hotel of our choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed two nights for the business. Hotel is very nice, location very OK, without dirt and noise directly nearby. Service absolutely good and welcoming. What was disappointing, that the rtoom airconditioning system did not work at all. There was +25 outside, and maybe same also in the room. I asked twice to check it, but as it stayed like this I also dont know the reason why it was not fixed in the hotel with such class. Was it not caring, which I cant believe or just completely broken aircon. Nobody explained...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed the service and The Grand’s city centre location.

During your stay the air-conditioning system in the entire hotel, indeed broke down. Technicians worked non-stop to solve this as soon as possible, but it is still a shame that you were not informed about this during your stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.

When your future travel plans include Amsterdam, I do hope you will choose to stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, so we can prove ourselves better.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Clearly, this hotel has good everything you would expect for this level of accomodation. So, no surprise you find it almost falutless. Location, especially, cannot be beaten. But, hey, this comes at a price. I think they could as well lower the rates of some 30-40 EUR. Parking you car close to it proves also difficult and/or expensive.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank frederikm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam for your stay and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding parking your car, may I inform you that the hotel does offer a Valet Parking service, priced at €50 per 24 hours? Hopefully this will be helpful, should you visit Amsterdam again in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,249 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing