We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Gracious Staff Surround by a Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #12 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Gracious Staff Surround by a Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This hotel exceeds the beauty of the canals of Amsterdam and its own historical building with its superb staff.

We have traveled extensively throughout the world staying in many 5 star hotels, and have had the "butler" experience before: the guy who shows up in tails to shake your hand who you rarely see again. This hotel's butler service is honestly a butler service. We had as our butlers Bart and Luis. They were extremely helpful in terms of sharing their knowledge of the city, making reservations, assuring that your room was to your satistaction, noting your individual likes and dislikes, even down to personally delivering your room service order, inquiring if your would like them to pack or unpack your bags, etc. Bottom line, their service was so exquisite, you hated to leave the hotel.

The hotel itself is beautifully appointed and very conveniently located. They are right on one of the canals. Walk in one direction and you have great pubs or cafes as they called them. Walk in the other and you get a first hand look at the red light district.

Their breakfast is not to be missed and do not leave without eating their waffles. These are not your normal fabulous waffle. These are small pieces of indescribable heaven on your plate.

We were on day one of our stay and already planning when we could return. You will feel at home and welcome in the beauty that is the Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest, First of all, may we thank you for sharing your views with us. At Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam your feedback is of utmost importance to us. We are honored to read that you enjoyed the service of our staff and especially of our butlers. We are also delighted to learn that you enjoyed our waffles and that you found the location of the hotel to be so convenient. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    359
    105
    48
    29
See reviews for
352
1,105
95
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for one night on a Sunday in September to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the service was excellent. The hotel delivered a complimentary bottle of champage to our room which was well received! The room was great and the bed very comfortable. The hotel breakfast was delicious. I read some reports that the breakfast area can get over crowded but it absolutely fine for us, however it wasn't a weekend. The location is ideal too. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanGrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for posting your feedback about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We are very happy to learn that you had an excellent celebration of your wedding anniversary with us. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and the champagne in your room! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a great value,the staff are warm and welcoming,the rooms are wonderfully well-equipped,the breakfast is excellent,the location is perfect and the whole hotel is spotless.
Everything was great, they had free wifi,a balcony,laundry service,breakfast included,and they were happy to help with whatever we needed.The hotel itself was very clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean_mar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for posting your feedback about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We are honoured to read that you felt our service was outstanding and that you had such a comfortable stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam soon. Yours, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I can't fully explain how much we loved this hotel. After our long flight overseas, the train ride into the city and carting our luggage through the streets of Amsterdam... to be welcomed at The Grand was the best. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, with a beautiful view over a quite canal. The room was stunning. I love the style and detail of everything at the hotel. The staff was beyond gracious! We had dinner one evening at the restaurant, Bridges.... it too was wonderful. The location is great, close to Dam square. The concierge provided wonderful recommendations for other restaurants.

We were delayed returning to the states for two nights at the end of our trip, because of the hurricane that hit New York. We immediately called and booked at The Grand. It was like a mini-return home....after having been traveling for three weeks. I really can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel! I will recommend it to anyone I know going to Amsterdam! It is spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear guest, We are delighted to learn that you have experienced our hotel as a home. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your Junior Suite and the professionalism of our staff. It also wonderful to learn that you enjoyed Bridges and the other culinary highlights the city has to offer. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon. Yours, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

After years of business travel to Amsterdam I found a new level of excellence. Let's just create two categories of hotels in Amsterdam- Sofitel the Grand and everybody else. Front desk staff to valets to housekeeping- every single person in uniform was engaging and professional. Standard room is a bit small but so tastefully appointed that you just won't care. Location was perfect. I go around the city by tram and there are stops within a few blocks. You must try this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkracerfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear guest,
We are delighted to learn that you found our hotel to be on a level of its own. We would like to thank you for complimenting on our staff’s professionalism. We are also pleased to read that the hotel’s location made it easy for your to explore the city. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam in the future.
Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We only stayed for 2 nights in a junior suite which overlooked the canal. We had a third bed in a twin room. The extra bed was very comfortable but it left only a small amount of space in the room. The room was really only big enough for twin beds. The hotel was clean and in a good location to easily walk to Dam Square. Would have liked more time to explore Amsterdam

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greynomad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and of course, for your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We are very pleased to read that you liked the location so much as a means to explore the city. We hope to welcome you back soon at our hotel and hopefully you will be able to stay longer to further discover the city. Yours, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing