We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Architecturally Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Architecturally Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of all the sites ( no more than a 1/2 hour walk). It is a renovation from many buildings put together. Very nice concierge and front desk service. Although expensive, the canal trip on the hotel's boat is a great experience. Breakfast is a bit sub par.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trop i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear trop i,

I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Your detailed comments are highly appreciated!

It is great to learn that you enjoyed the unqiue archotecture of our building and that you took a trip on our canal boat The Tourist! After all, Amsterdam is best seen from the water!

I truly hope that we may welcome you back to Hotel Pulitzer, whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    722
    267
    104
    71
See reviews for
381
1,149
129
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was a great location for a day of sightseeing after a two-week cruise. It has good access to all the major sights, either by walking, tram or bus. The staff was extremely helpful in every way--checking us in, handling our luggage, giving directions and arranging for tram tickets. Our room (194) was very comfortable with a small patio on the courtyard. We will definitely stay here again if we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickieLynn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear VickieLynn51,

On behalf of the entire Hotel Pulitzer Team, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is a true pleasure to read that you had a lovely stay in our unique hotel and the city of Amsterdam!

I have shared your compliments with the entire team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Conveniently located hotel. even so its large it kept its tradition and charme. rooms are unique, nice but usually tiny and dont alyways have the amenities you would expect from a modern hotel due to the historic environment. Bed is extremely comfortable. Service is very good and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTravellerMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear FreqTravellerMunich,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable time in our historical hotel. It is a pleasure to learn that you always enjoy your stays with us, especially the comfortable beds and charm of our unique hotel.

I hope that we may welcome you back more often in the future!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed there for a week when I went to AMS for a business trip. The room was nice but very small. All night long mosquitos were eating me alive!
All the rest was fine! But next tme i think i'd choose a different one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Svetik S,

On behalf of the entire Hotel Pulitzer Team, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. As we always try to improve the level of service we provide, your feedback is highly appreciated.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the fact that the room was not totally to your satisfaction and that you got bothered by mosquitos at night. I hope that it did not reflect on your stay too much.

Despite this unfortunate experience, I truly hope we have the chance to welcome you back at Hotel Pulitzer in order to create an exceptional and memorable stay for you.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We really appreciated Pulitzer's unique design, charm and picturesque location. Each room is unique with much character (some would just call it old but we liked it). The luxury collection touch was added in the plush bedding and towels, well appointed bathroom, free internet and bottled water. We really liked the gourmet chocolates and bottled water on our night stands each night. There is lots of natural light provided by the numerous windows and our splurge to a canal-view room did not disappoint us.

Now for the BEWARE! We were told by more than one person at this hotel, we could purchase a ride on the hotel-owned tourist boat for 39EUR pp. If we wanted, we could add an all-inclusive 'champagne fixed menu dinner' for 57EUR pp. We understood 'all inclusive' to mean including the boat ride and didn't mind the mediocre dinner since the price was reasonable. Imagine our shock and disappointment at check-out when we discover that 'all inclusive' to them means only including the dinner, the boat was not included. We were not happy at all to pay 39+57EUR pp for a less than thrilling experience. The front desk staff were unsympathetic and basically said "too bad, that's the way it is". This really soured an otherwise great experience. Too bad this is the event we left the hotel with and will remember the most when telling others about the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Randy S,

I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor, your detailed comments are highly appreciated.

At Hotel Pulitzer we do our best to make you, as a valued guest, feel at home and we try our best to accommodate any wishes you might have. Therefore I am pleased to read that, overall, you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused with regards to the misunderstaning with the boat-dinner package. I have shared your feedback with the team in order for us to be more clear about packages like these in the future.

Despite this unfortunate experience, I truly hope we have the chance to welcome you back at Hotel Pulitzer in order to create an exceptional and memorable stay for you.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here last summer and had a great time. The hotel was very nice and in a charming series of buildings with a nice courtyard. We were upgraded to a room that looked out over the canal, which was fabulous. Everything was very nicely appointed and service was generally quick, although check-in was quite busy and took a while when we got there.

Our room was actually decent size, although the bathroom was quite tight. However, the beauty of the building made up for the lack of space. Gym was not huge, but had a decent set of equipment.

Location was great - there is a bunch going on within a street or two of the hotel and a 10 minute walk can get you to a fair number of interesting tourist destinations.

I'd definitely stay here again on my next trip to Amserdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear TravelingRoger,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel last summer. It is a great pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable time in both our historical hotel and the city of Amsterdam.
I am very happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us, especially with regards to the location and canal view room you got upgraded to.

I hope that we may welcome you back to our unique hotel in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I've been travelling to Amsterdam for decades, since I was just 17, but now I'm at that time of life where I need luxury. In my opinion, when it comes to hotels, the rule of thumb should be "follow the Americans" - and I say that as a proud Englishman. American customers demand the best in all areas of hotel service and it's clearly for that reason Hotel Pulitzer is a magnet for tourists from the USA. The rooms are very comfortable, whilst at the same time having character - note the wonderful beams! The staff are extra helpful and there are no typically Dutch stairs (ie ladders!). The breakfast is magnificent (although a little pricey at 32 Euros pp) and the interconnecting houses make beautiful quiet courtyards to relax and enjoy the ambience. Totally accessible on the Prinsengracht to everywhere you need to visit, this hotel ticks all the buttons and unusually for many hotels, works just as well for business travellers, families or couples.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Barry L,

On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. It is a true pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed staying with us, especially with regards to the breakfast, helpful staff and structure of our historical buildings.

We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Pulitzer whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#23 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing