We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderfully unique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderfully unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms were exceptionally clean and the property was something to really enjoy. The breakfast was fantastic - plenty to choose from and great tasting! Plenty of amenities but if nothing else - I would strongly suggest that you take advantage of the concierge services. I worked with them several times from booking restaurants, suggesting a museum, and even what neighborhoods to take a stroll. (They even told me the best places to duck in to should we need a bathroom break!). They are a wonderful example of what one should expect of a concierge! I will be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CHD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear CHD3,

On behalf of the entire Hotel Pulitzer Team, I would like to thank you very much for your stay with us last November and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to learn that you've had an enjoyable time in our hotel and the unique city of Amsterdam.
Great to learn that our Concierge Team was helpful in providing you with recommendations on sights and restaurants to visit while you were here and I have shared your compliments with them.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Pulitzer in the near future!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    722
    266
    104
    71
See reviews for
381
1,148
129
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
524 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of my top 3 in the world.

It was the location for part of the movie oceans 11.

My room was on the top floor of a house built in 1619. Had vaulted ceilings with wood cross members exposed. Very clean and quiet.

Great location. Bit pricey.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dan459us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear dan459us,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a memorable stay and that our unique hotel is in your top 3, wow!

I truly hope that we may welcome you back to Amsterdam in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
356 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights at the Pulitzer Hotel. It's a 5 star Hotel with a lot of character. Couple of points! If you upgrade to canal view rooms, understand that you will hear all of the sounds of the street. Our upgraded room (209) had a great view but was above the entrance to the Hotel. Unless you want to hear the early departures to the airport, avoid rooms 207/209/211/307/309/311. Lastly, the hotel brochure offers a 90 minute boat ride from their dock. What it doesn't say is that it costs 38 euros per person. Save yourself $ and take one of the other cruises which are just as nice but only costs 20 euros!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Tom H,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for taking some of your valuable time to share your experience. As we are always trying to improve the products and services we provide, your feedback is highly appreciated.
I am pleased to read that, overall, you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that I have shared your feedback with regards to the room allocation and boat tour with the Management Team. Still, I would like to offer you our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused, as it was never our intention to give you a dissatisfied feeling.

I truly hope that we may welcome you back to Hotel Pulitzer during your next visit to The Netherlands.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a very unique property at one of the centrally located canals in the city. I like the service and the rooms were of very good quality. The property was very well maintained and it was an unusual property in the sense that it had set out a number of canal houses to be placed into one hotel. The bad part is a property has very small rooms. I guess it's because of the nature of the place but it was not the worst I have encountered.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Coollawyer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Coollawyer96,

I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. It brings me great pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in our unique hotel. Did you know that Hotel Pulitzer consists out of 25 canal houses, all connected to eachother?

I hope that we may welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to The Netherlands again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My first time to Amsterdam, and I could not have stayed anywhere better.

The Pulitzer is in a great location, right on the same street as the Anne Frank museum! Staff were friendly and helpful in giving us directions for getting about the city.

The rooms were beautiful, as was the restaurant where my friend and I enjoyed a lovely dinner and breakfast. Enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Susanne Z,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable time in both our historical hotel and the unique city of Amsterdam.
We are very honored that you have chosen Hotel Pulitzer as a "home away from home" for your first visit to Amsterdam and I have shared your compliments among our team.

I hope that we may welcome you back for a return visit in the near future!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Hotel Pulitzer is an example of class and old time luxury. Although the rooms aren't fantastic by today's standards, the service and the staff more than make up for that. Hotel Pulitzer is a combination of 25 canal houses that were put together, so it is not the traditional layout of a hotel. You walk through lots of different hallways and staircases and there are at least 4 different elevator banks. The staff is the most helpful and accommodating staff that I have ever done business with. There wasn't anything that was too difficult or complicated for them to do. The hotel has a gym( which I didn't use) , a terrific restaurant and a pretty active bar. My husband and I were very impressed with our stay at The Hotel Pulitzer and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All canal rooms have lovely views, but can be a bit noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmr718BocaRaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear jmr718BocaRaton,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable time in our historical hotel. I am very pleased to learn that you especially enjoyed the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and I have shared your compliments with the entire team.

I truly hope that we may welcome you back to Hotel Pulitzer whenever your travels bring you to Amsterdam again.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The are on the top of their game here. I brought my 7 year old son and wanted a little r&r with my husband. They offered up their concierge to watch my son. Ginny was an absolute doll and treated my son with exceptional care. The gym was fantastic as well. No pool or hot tub and the rooms were nothing fantastic, but the service would make me come back here for sure. Very quaint and in a great section of town
Thank You

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garboslobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear garboslobster,

On behalf of the entire Hotel Pulitzer Team, I would like to thank you very much for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. As we are constantly trying to improve our products and services, your feedback is highly appreciated.
It is a pleasure to read that you and your family have enjoyed your stay in our historical hotel, especially with regards to the service provided by our staff members. I have shared your compliments with Ginny and the rest of the team.

We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Pulitzer in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#23 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing