We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Almost 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at the Pulitzer for a conference. Hotel is set in a number of old houses between two canals, which I find very interesting and unique. Houses are connected by glass structures, which is very nice but can remind you of a corn maze. Used the restaurant for breakfast and it was very good but not excellent and service was a bit distant (also when I tried to get dinner but everything was booked). Room was small but comfortable (as was the bed). Internet usage is a bit confusing if you are using more than 1 device. The biggest flaw - in my mind - is the lack of a little in-room coffee maker. Not sure if they are cheap or if in-room coffee making is below standards of a "Luxury" hotel. Overall, I did not get the feeling that this hotel was really so luxurious - which is how they brand it now (I believe it was a Sheraton before).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking either one of the canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kicostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Kicostar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Hotel Pulitzer experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the fact that we were not able to exceed your expectations. It was never our intention to give you a feeling that you were not in a Luxury environment. We are indeed part of the Starwood Luxury Collection hotels, as we strive to provide all our guests with an exceptional and indigenous experience.
As we would like to offer our guests high quality coffee, we situated the Espresso Bar in our lobby. Therefore we do not have a coffee making station in the rooms. However, our Housekeeping Department would be more than happy to provide you with one upon your request.

Thank you again for your valued feedback and I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    723
    268
    104
    71
See reviews for
391
1,163
130
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Yes, it is in a fantastic location. Yes, the building and layout are extremely cool. Yes, the hotel's own boat tour is a blast. All those things you can see in pictures. But what we will always take away from our 3 nights there, was the tremendous customer service. Many places claim it, very few deliver it. Not just "get it done", but get it done with a smile, concern, and friendliness that makes an impression. From the doorman (Max!), to the front desk staff (concierge team was tremendously helpful), to the bartenders.... everyone makes you feel welcome. A truly great experience......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BroncoFan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear BroncoFan12,

Wow! Thank you very much for your wonderful words! This certainly makes my week.

It is truly heartwarming to read our Ambassadors made your stay extra special. I agree with you that when they go the extra mile, your stay gets elevated to another level.

Thank you again for your compliments and I hope we may welcome you again!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed at the Pulitzer many years ago and was glad to come back. The hotel is still very charming, with rooms spread over several houses that have been combined to form the hotel. Some of the rooms can be small, others can have windows looking into internal courts, but I still like it. It is expensive, as everything in Amsterdam is, but the location is unbeatable (next to the Anne Frank museum) on one of the most beautiful parts of town. Wi-fi connection could be faster. The guys helping with the luggage and cars are very nice and helpful, the ladies at the reception could be nicer though, they can get stressed and a bit rough at busy times.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ckatsuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear ckatsuya,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on your recent stay in Hotel Pulitzer. I am very happy to read we had the honor of welcoming you back after all these years.

Please be informed that I have personally shared your feedback with our Front Desk team, as we strive to treat all our guests with a warm welcome and a genuine smile.
Furthermore I have informed our IT team with regards to the internet speed.

I hope we may welcome you again in the not too distant future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Nicely refurbished historical hotel which exudes charm and character. Location is very good as well 5 mins stroll to the tram stop. However prices are very steep and rooms a little tiny. Rooms were very clean and well maintained. If you are planning to stay in the room much, get a canal view room, or else get out and explore Amsterdam! There's a bus direct to the airport too if you pre arrange.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear williamlye,

Thank you very much for your review on Hotel Pulitzer. It was a true pleasure having you as our guest.
As Hotel Pulitzer consists of 25 authentic Canal Houses, dating back to the 17th and 18th century, we strived to preserve as much charm and authenticity as we possibly could. Consequently, all rooms in Hotel Pulitzer are unique in size and shape. It could happen that you are assigned to a room which is not entirely up to your satisfaction. If the availability permits, our Front Desk team is more than happy to find a suitable room for you.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Loved the hotel for its service, location and friendly personnel...what one can expect from a luxury hotel. Located on Prinsengracht, just a few steps away from Anne Frank House, in the neighbourhood of Jordaan which is an absolute top location in Amsterdam. Here, you can immerse yourself in an exciting culture and lifestyle experience. Evidently, I was enjoying life strutting my way along the canal lined with 17th century houses, going through the small alleys and stopping by to peak inside the quirky specialty shops, designer boutiques, antique shops and cafes. Such a chic up-scale neighbourhood. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CintaBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Cintaberry,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words on TripAdvisor! It was amazing to read your review on your recent stay with us in Hotel Pulitzer.
We are indeed situated on The Prinsengracht, a few hundred meters away from the Anne Frank House.
The best way to explore Amsterdam is either by foot or canal, and from what I can read, you certainly enjoyed the atmosphere of the city!

I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Best memories of my life made in this hotel . George Clooney was right , great hotel . Thank you for filling up my mini bar so often :) PS you need to improve on the chicken wings ;) everything else was perfect . Great location friendly and helpful staff . Thank you once again for keeping our privacy private

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninjasonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ninjasonic,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to read that you had a memorable stay in Amsterdam. Your comment regarding our chicken wings has been shared with our Executive Chef in order to improve this dish and our service.
I hope to welome you back to historical Hotel Pulitzer during your next visit to Amsterdam!

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is lovely and what you would expect from a luxury hotel. Staff where friendly and available to help. The hotel is in a great location, not too far from the centre but far enough to be quiet. It is also easy to get from Central Train station by tram to the hotel. The breakfast buffet was great with anything you could need, all at a very good quality. The only slight negative was the size of the room, however we did have a basic level room. It was big enough for 2 but not for more than a few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Mays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear 2Mays,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in Amsterdam. Am am sorry to read that you found the room slightly small, due to the fact that our buildings date from the 17th and 18th century, we are limited to what we can do regarding the size of the room.
Once again, thank you very much for your stay. I hope we may welcome you back to Hotel Pulitzer, during your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#19 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing