We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Why stay anywhere else?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Ranked #32 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here from August 29th to September 1 and it is beautiful. It's right on the canal and is a collection of older houses that have been combined to form the hotel. Each room is a little bit different which adds charm and character. The rooms are clean and of decent size. The restaurant breakfast spread is fantastic and the service from the staff is excellent. The concierge group is extremely knowledgeable and friendly. No question is too small to ask and they will almost certainly know the answer. The hotel is close to the Anne Frank House and the Westerkerk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACE3674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear ACE3674,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you had a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed the historical buildings in which Hotel Pulitzer is located. Did you know the 25 canal houses are a Unesco World Heritage Site?
We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Pulitzer during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    723
    268
    104
    71
See reviews for
391
1,166
130
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms are really comfortable. Hotel has a small but pretty good gym. Staff are very nice and helpful and the food in the bar is good - I had a burger, a steak and the fish (just not all on one night).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Carl P,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. It was a true pleasure having you as our guest.
I am happy to read you enjoyed the room and found it comfortable. Pulitzer's bar was recently chosen as the best hotelbar in Amsterdam, of which we are naturally very proud.

We look forward welcoming you back to our unique property.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were able to reserve a hotel room despite an incredibly busy time in Amsterdam during the last week of August. A convention had eaten up all hotel rooms. Yet when we checked in we were honored to get an upgraded floor and bath tub, just about everything we desired. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer and got us last minute restaurant reservations. The concierge team is really wonderful. So kudos to the front desk, manager and even the bell hop who was friendly and informative. Also worth noting, the breakfast is wonderful. The chef made a neighboring table a unique terrine of omelette which I craved the minute I saw it and after ordering the same thing I devoured it! Sumptuous!
About the room , bathroom was ok size with a terrific bathtub / shower but no counter space. The bed was comfortable. The room size was on small size but perfectly quiet and the ceiling was nice and high with gorgeous exposed beams. There is NO TURN DOWN so for those craving this type of service don't expect it. Towels were aplenty .We would absolutely stay here again and keep our family tradition alive!

Room Tip: High Floor feels quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gallerygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear gallerygirl09,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay in Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection hotel. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write such a complete story on your experiences with us.
I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and was able to explore Amsterdam and our hotel during to busy couple of weeks. Please be informed that I have shared your wonderful words with our team.

I hope we may welcome you back again to Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Putlizer from August 19th to August 23rd. The hotel is a fantastic place. It is located perfectly, has a great bar and restaurant and the staff is outstanding. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to make sure we had everything we need. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Michael W,

Thank for your feedback and for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts on how you experienced your stay here at our hotel.
It is nice to read that you like the hotel and that you found our staff friendly and professional, I will definitely share your comments with our teams.
We do thank you for having chosen our Property for your stay in Amsterdam and also for having taken the time to share your experience.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice and cozy hotel, the bedrooms are a bit small but so cozy and luxurious, great and helpful concierge and front office team and last but not least excellent food in the restaurant - the chef is amazing - breakfast was also very nice but should vary from day to day as there are guests staying over for several nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgniGelasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear AgniGelasaki,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. It is inspiring to take part of your words and reflections. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.
Please be informed that I have shared your review with our Breakfast chef, to see if we can create more variation during breakfast.

I hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel has a lot of pluses: good location, historical background and pleasant staff but our bedroom and bathroom were disappointingly small and you needed to request tea making facilities in your room via reception if you wanted to make a cup of tea or coffee in the room. Is this because there is a lack of space to put the tray? The coffee cups provided were not suitable for a cup of tea either and it is just little things like this that make the difference between a good and a great hotel.
I would think twice on this basis before returning due to the room rates and perhaps look elsewhere. I was really looking forward to staying here and leave feel disappointed which is a shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jacobs08,

Thank for your feedback and for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts on how you experienced your stay here at our hotel.
It is great to take part of your feedback and it makes me especially happy to read about or staff and how you experience our guest services.
I am sorry to read we were not able to meet or even exceed your expectations with regards to your room. As all of the rooms in Hotel Pulitzer are unique in size and shape, it may occur that your room is not entirely up to your satisfaction. Please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk to check availability for a more suitable room.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived at the The Pulitzer Hotel on the weekend of the 23rd to 26th Aug totally unaware that there was a classical concert on the canal and how busy it would be, despite this the staff on our arrival were excellent especially as we had lost a bag on route containing amongst other things essential prescription medicine. The reception staff and concierge made all the calls necessary for a doctor to be contacted and enable us to obtain replacements through a local pharmacy. In our stay we found everybody at the hotel to be friendly, helpful and very pleasant. The room and breakfast were both of a very high standard ensuring we slept well. We have discussed our visit with friends who are intending to book for the same weekend next year, we know they will not be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teaaddict22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear teaaddict22_10,

Thank you for your review and fantastic feedback on your visit to Amsterdam and us. It is nice to read that you like the hotel and that you found our staff friendly and professional, I will definitely share your comments with our teams.
Our goal is to always offer best possible service and it great to read you felt well taken care of during your trip.

We look forward welcoming you and your friends back next year.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing