We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Ranked #33 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were able to reserve a hotel room despite an incredibly busy time in Amsterdam during the last week of August. A convention had eaten up all hotel rooms. Yet when we checked in we were honored to get an upgraded floor and bath tub, just about everything we desired. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer and got us last minute restaurant reservations. The concierge team is really wonderful. So kudos to the front desk, manager and even the bell hop who was friendly and informative. Also worth noting, the breakfast is wonderful. The chef made a neighboring table a unique terrine of omelette which I craved the minute I saw it and after ordering the same thing I devoured it! Sumptuous!
About the room , bathroom was ok size with a terrific bathtub / shower but no counter space. The bed was comfortable. The room size was on small size but perfectly quiet and the ceiling was nice and high with gorgeous exposed beams. There is NO TURN DOWN so for those craving this type of service don't expect it. Towels were aplenty .We would absolutely stay here again and keep our family tradition alive!

Room Tip: High Floor feels quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gallerygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear gallerygirl09,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay in Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection hotel. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write such a complete story on your experiences with us.
I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and was able to explore Amsterdam and our hotel during to busy couple of weeks. Please be informed that I have shared your wonderful words with our team.

I hope we may welcome you back again to Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    723
    268
    104
    71
See reviews for
391
1,164
130
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Putlizer from August 19th to August 23rd. The hotel is a fantastic place. It is located perfectly, has a great bar and restaurant and the staff is outstanding. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to make sure we had everything we need. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Michael W,

Thank for your feedback and for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts on how you experienced your stay here at our hotel.
It is nice to read that you like the hotel and that you found our staff friendly and professional, I will definitely share your comments with our teams.
We do thank you for having chosen our Property for your stay in Amsterdam and also for having taken the time to share your experience.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice and cozy hotel, the bedrooms are a bit small but so cozy and luxurious, great and helpful concierge and front office team and last but not least excellent food in the restaurant - the chef is amazing - breakfast was also very nice but should vary from day to day as there are guests staying over for several nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgniGelasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear AgniGelasaki,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. It is inspiring to take part of your words and reflections. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.
Please be informed that I have shared your review with our Breakfast chef, to see if we can create more variation during breakfast.

I hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel has a lot of pluses: good location, historical background and pleasant staff but our bedroom and bathroom were disappointingly small and you needed to request tea making facilities in your room via reception if you wanted to make a cup of tea or coffee in the room. Is this because there is a lack of space to put the tray? The coffee cups provided were not suitable for a cup of tea either and it is just little things like this that make the difference between a good and a great hotel.
I would think twice on this basis before returning due to the room rates and perhaps look elsewhere. I was really looking forward to staying here and leave feel disappointed which is a shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacobs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jacobs08,

Thank for your feedback and for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts on how you experienced your stay here at our hotel.
It is great to take part of your feedback and it makes me especially happy to read about or staff and how you experience our guest services.
I am sorry to read we were not able to meet or even exceed your expectations with regards to your room. As all of the rooms in Hotel Pulitzer are unique in size and shape, it may occur that your room is not entirely up to your satisfaction. Please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk to check availability for a more suitable room.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived at the The Pulitzer Hotel on the weekend of the 23rd to 26th Aug totally unaware that there was a classical concert on the canal and how busy it would be, despite this the staff on our arrival were excellent especially as we had lost a bag on route containing amongst other things essential prescription medicine. The reception staff and concierge made all the calls necessary for a doctor to be contacted and enable us to obtain replacements through a local pharmacy. In our stay we found everybody at the hotel to be friendly, helpful and very pleasant. The room and breakfast were both of a very high standard ensuring we slept well. We have discussed our visit with friends who are intending to book for the same weekend next year, we know they will not be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teaaddict22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear teaaddict22_10,

Thank you for your review and fantastic feedback on your visit to Amsterdam and us. It is nice to read that you like the hotel and that you found our staff friendly and professional, I will definitely share your comments with our teams.
Our goal is to always offer best possible service and it great to read you felt well taken care of during your trip.

We look forward welcoming you and your friends back next year.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. It has the look of all of the old warehouses you see in downtown Amsterdam. Great location and very helpful staff. Getting through the hotel with a lot of luggage can be a bit challenging but that is a minor detail in the grand scheme of things. We enjoyed our stay there and the staff was kind enough to provide us with a bottle of bubbly to celebrate our honeymoon. The room was spacious and perfect for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mattrx,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Pulitzer as your destination to celebrate your honeymoon. It was a true pleasure to have you as our guest.
It is nice to read that you like the hotel and that you found our staff friendly and professional, I will definitely share your comments with our teams.
Please be informed that should you require any assistance with your luggage, do not hesitate to contact our porters.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been to Amsterdam for business about ten times from the States in the past calendar year and just checked out from a three night stay at the Hotel Pulitzer. This hotel is not worth it even with a corporate expense account and/or discount. The location is good, and the concierge and staff are fine, but the room was nothing special/average, the wifi horrible (and at a cost), and the front desk was not really helpful. I had no particular bad event, and was honestly looking forward to a Starwood property, but will not be coming back next month on my next visit. If you want a business oriented hotel, there are other better choices. If you want a charming canal hotel, there are others as well. I was hoping to enjoy the best of both worlds, but got neither.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelplatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Travelplatypus,

Your review of your stay with us here on TripAdvisor has been well received and is highly appreciated.
I am disappointed that to read that your stay in our property did not meet your expectations. This experience you describe is not the level of service we pride ourselves with. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused you.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#27 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing